BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2007, 10:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8800
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 181
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question OTA Install?

Please Login to Remove!

Hi all,

I'm trying to setup OTA install for an app but I'm not quite sure what I need. I've done OTA install for MIDlets before, using a JAD.

For a BB application do I use the ALX file, or do I still need a JAD, or is just the COD enough? If I don't need a JAD what MIME types do the ALX and COD files need?

TIA, Ben
Offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 10:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Model: 8830
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 144
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Ben,

You can either deploy the JAR/JAD files, or the COD/JAD files. If you are using the MDS, then you can go either route. If you aren't using the MDS, then you'll probably have to go with the COD/JAD files.

One note about the COD file. If your app has multiple COD files, you'll have to unzip the COD file into the individual files.

The web server also needs to set the following MIME types:

For .jad files, text/vnd.sun.j2me.app-descriptor
For .cod files, application/vnd.rim.cod

If you're using MDS, the MDS can automatically convert JAR files to COD files. If you want to allow BB users to download JAR files, you can set the following MIME type:

For .jar files, application/java-archive

fbrimm
Offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 11:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

alx is just for desktop install, you still install ota with a jad which will reference the cod, the mime types are:

.jad - text/vnd.sun.j2me.app-descriptor
.cod - application/vnd.rim.cod
__________________
new job doesn't allow a public profile - please do not contact this user with questions, you will not get a response. good luck!
Offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 11:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oops. sorry, mustve been typing at the same time.
__________________
new job doesn't allow a public profile - please do not contact this user with questions, you will not get a response. good luck!
Offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 11:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8800
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 181
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for getting back to me. Do I change this line in the JAD:

MIDlet-Jar-URL: BBApp.jar

To BBApp.cod then?

TIA, Ben
Offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 11:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the jad should already be referencing the cod - did you develop in the jde? is it a native blackberry app or a midlet?

sorry, not come across that before.
__________________
new job doesn't allow a public profile - please do not contact this user with questions, you will not get a response. good luck!
Offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 11:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8800
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 181
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK I changed that and and MIDlet-Jar-Size to the COD size but I'm getting a size mismatch error. Is there another property I need to use?

TIA
Offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 11:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8800
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 181
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ahh I've got it working thanks to this article: Livelink - Redirection

I needed a RIM-COD-URL: and RIM-COD-Size: attributes!

Thanks
Offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 08:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8800
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 181
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok this is strange. I had it all working perfectly. I've since done a new build and uploaded it to the server with an updated JAD. Now when I try to download it it goes through the process and then says:
Quote:
907 Invalid COD. Unable to import ZIP file
Any ideas?
Offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 08:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8800
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 181
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I don't know if this is relevant but the BB seems to be ignoring the RIM-COD-Size attribute now, and reports the size itself (incorrectly).
Offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 08:30 AM   #11 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8800
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 181
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It gets even stranger! I thought I'd unzip the .cod - and found two .cods inside - app.cod and app-1.cod (which was only a few bytes. I uploaded the app.cod that was inside app.cod and it all worked fine!

What is going on here? And why didn't it happen the first time I tried the OTA with the previous build? I built the new version using exactly the same ANT script!
Offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 09:44 AM   #12 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Model: 8830
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 144
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If your app has grown to multiple cod files, then you have to unzip the cod file and put the individual cod files on your web server. You would think they could deal with unzipping the cod files automatically, but definitely not the case.

You shouldn't have to change the contents of any of the files (assuming you're using the RIM JDE). You simple build the app, unzip the cod file to your web server, and copy the jad file to the web server. That's it.

fbrimm
Offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 09:47 AM   #13 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8800
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 181
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the reply. If certainly seems the case that it is now in multiple COD files (within the single COD file). Why does it do this? And what is the size limit at which is splits them into multiples?

I'm guessing somewhere around 66666 bytes, which was about the size of my initial build that was contained within a single COD.
Offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 10:22 AM   #14 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

according to the linked report 64kb of data and 64kb resources.
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 10:23 AM   #15 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8800
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 181
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Where's the link?
Offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 10:31 AM   #16 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8800
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 181
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Also how can I build an ant task to automatically generate the JAD for me?
I'm using a task to to unzip the .COD and modify a .JAD template, but the template obviously doesn't know how many .CODs there will be.
Offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 10:11 PM   #17 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 9000
Carrier: SFR
Posts: 48
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Two points with which I had to deal on same situation:
907 Invalid COD
Hoppefully I have two browser available on my bb one from cinguler and one using a BES.
I get the error on the cingular side but the other side allows me to download it without problem ... .. .


I had to change add some lines on my httpd.conf:
AddType application/vnd.rim.cod .cod
AddType text/vnd.sun.j2me.app-descriptor .jad

I already had:
AddEncoding x-compress Z
AddEncoding x-gzip gz tgz

Hope it can help.
Offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 10:13 PM   #18 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 9000
Carrier: SFR
Posts: 48
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hum sorry a little bit quick.
The second part was already on the thread (twice ...)
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.