BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2004, 04:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Calling SOAP Web Services from BlackBerry

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

I'm trying to write a BlackBerry application that has to connect to several server-side applications.
I've read in many white papers that the best architecture for retrieving corporate data from a BlackBerry was to use HTTP and XML, invoking Web Services on the intranet.

Do you know any SOAP Client java implementation for BlackBerry ?

Do you have any advice about writing such applications ?

Thanks
Offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 05:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 22
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

KSoap, based on kXML, for low bandwidth J2ME SOAP
http://kobjects.org/auto?self=%2381d...0000f5b22b3fc4

Greg
Offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 02:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm using kSoap2 and it works fine, but there is something the BlackBerry does which mangles the required SoapAction HTTP header. If you search this forum I've posted a work-around.
__________________
David O'Meara
JavaRanch
Offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 02:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Update:
It's here...
http://www.blackberryclub.com/viewtopic.php?t=268
__________________
David O'Meara
JavaRanch
Offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 03:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 24
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Socket is available only from / to BlackBerry Enterprise Server?
It is possible use socket in gateway connection,
e.g.
(StreamConnection)Connector.open("socket://server:8080/sync4j/sync;WAPGatewayIP=x.x.x.x;WAPGatewayAPN=something; WAPGatewayPort=9201", Connector.READ_WRITE, true) ?

Thanks for any suggestions.
fabius
Offline  
Old 10-15-2004, 08:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

can any of you guys show me how to use kSoap in JDE?
I have tried adding the zip file to a project and then making my main project depend on the kSoap project. Doesn't work!

Any help would be appreciated.
Tim
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.