BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2004, 04:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Calling SOAP Web Services from BlackBerry

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

I'm trying to write a BlackBerry application that has to connect to several server-side applications.
I've read in many white papers that the best architecture for retrieving corporate data from a BlackBerry was to use HTTP and XML, invoking Web Services on the intranet.

Do you know any SOAP Client java implementation for BlackBerry ?

Do you have any advice about writing such applications ?

Thanks
Offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 05:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 22
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

KSoap, based on kXML, for low bandwidth J2ME SOAP
http://kobjects.org/auto?self=%2381d...0000f5b22b3fc4

Greg
Offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 02:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm using kSoap2 and it works fine, but there is something the BlackBerry does which mangles the required SoapAction HTTP header. If you search this forum I've posted a work-around.
__________________
David O'Meara
JavaRanch
Offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 02:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Update:
It's here...
http://www.blackberryclub.com/viewtopic.php?t=268
__________________
David O'Meara
JavaRanch
Offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 03:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 24
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Socket is available only from / to BlackBerry Enterprise Server?
It is possible use socket in gateway connection,
e.g.
(StreamConnection)Connector.open("socket://server:8080/sync4j/sync;WAPGatewayIP=x.x.x.x;WAPGatewayAPN=something; WAPGatewayPort=9201", Connector.READ_WRITE, true) ?

Thanks for any suggestions.
fabius
Offline  
Old 10-15-2004, 08:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

can any of you guys show me how to use kSoap in JDE?
I have tried adding the zip file to a project and then making my main project depend on the kSoap project. Doesn't work!

Any help would be appreciated.
Tim
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.