BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2007, 06:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Model: 8800
Carrier: tmobile
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Controlling GPS? -- Can't getInstance

Please Login to Remove!

I'm been successful in using the Locaton API to access the GPS (BB 8800) and get coordinates, speed, course, etc. The program is very simple. However, when I port the same thread to an application running in the background, I get an exception error when I call LocatorProvider.getInstance(criteria). The exception results from the method not being able to get an application instance.

Does anyone have any idea why the LocatorProvider instance can't be found? I haven't changed the Criteria.

I'm a little confused on how to explicitly activate and deactivate the GPS hardware.

Thanks,
Bob
Offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 05:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Skipper_Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kharkov, Ukraine
Model: 8300
Carrier: N/A
Posts: 237
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Can you post code sample with criteria and also exception and its message?

You can't pragrammatically deactivate your GPS chip. However, when you are trying to get the cellsite fix, chip should be activated
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.