BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2007, 09:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Model: 8100
Carrier: tmobile
Posts: 16
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Kosher to give trackball color code?

Please Login to Remove!

I just spent the past 3 hours trying to understand this hidden feature with code not explained on the BB dev site, but enabled in the JDE. I have figured out how to activate the main LEDs for each primary color (red, green, blue), turn it on, turn it off, blink, etc. I figure some of this code would be handy out in the open for more cool free software, but some might not enjoy that.

I guess maybe if a few people want it, I'll post it up.
Offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 11:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it's not hidden, it's in the api.
__________________
new job doesn't allow a public profile - please do not contact this user with questions, you will not get a response. good luck!
Offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 02:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
metsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8100
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 141
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Doesn't bother me at all. In fact, when I can get around to packaging it up, I'm going to open source all my code anyway.

I don't see it on the BB website, but documentation comes with the JDE for thew new APIs. Sadly, there's no list of just what's new, but if you look at the LED class, it has the new stuff documented.

RIM Device Java Library
__________________
Get AutoLock, SoftReset, and ColorPearl for the BlackBerry! Like my software? Donate!
Offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 05:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Model: 8100
Carrier: tmobile
Posts: 16
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here are the key parts for turning it on and changing the color. Might want to stick the code in a case statement or if structure, or its just going to turn on then off extremely quickly.

Code:
LED.setState(LED.LED_TYPE_TRACKBALL,LED.STATE_ON)
LED.setColorConfiguration(LED.LED_TYPE_TRACKBALL,100000, 0, 0x0000FF00)
LED.setColorConfiguration(LED.LED_TYPE_TRACKBALL,100000, 0, 0x00FF0000)
LED.setColorConfiguration(LED.LED_TYPE_TRACKBALL,100000, 0, 0x000000FF)
LED.setState(LED.LED_TYPE_TRACKBALL,LED.STATE_OFF)

Last edited by dietcokefiend : 04-15-2007 at 05:12 PM.
Offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 10:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 17
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Has anyone had any luck with this code on the 8830? I've tried to use:

Code:
LED.setColorConfiguration(LED_TYPE_TRACKBALL,1000,0x000000FF);
on a small app on my BlackBerry 8830 from Telus, but it just results in my status indicator turning blue. Does anyone have any suggestions as to how to turn my Trackball blue using the LED class?

Thanks in advance!
Offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 11:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Perfect Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ottawa
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.114
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 2,467
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by remaerdlacidar View Post
Has anyone had any luck with this code on the 8830? I've tried to use:

Code:
LED.setColorConfiguration(LED_TYPE_TRACKBALL,1000,0x000000FF);
on a small app on my BlackBerry 8830 from Telus, but it just results in my status indicator turning blue. Does anyone have any suggestions as to how to turn my Trackball blue using the LED class?

Thanks in advance!
Only the 8100 has the multicoloured LEDs
__________________
www.petermac.ca - Photo wallpapers only in BlackBerry Internet Browser
www.BBeXtras.com - Photo wallpapers sent to your BlackBerry
BlackBerry Themes
Offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 12:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 17
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Really!? Aw :( that's too bad.
Offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 08:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Model: 8100
Carrier: rogers
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hello

Hello i am having trouble using the above mentioned code.

LED.setState(LED.LED_TYPE_TRACKBALL,LED.STATE_ON)
LED.setColorConfiguration(LED.LED_TYPE_TRACKBALL,1 00000, 0, 0x0000FF00)


I can compile but when i run my app i get an error:

Symbol "LED.setState" not found

The program runs fine when i take out the "LED.LED_TYPE_TRACKBALL"
but then it only controls the regular led and not the trackball.

Any help woould be very much appreciated!

Thank you anyone.
Offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 01:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Rose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: India
Model: 9700
OS: Windows 7
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 121
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,
I think you may be having the old OS version which does not have "LED.LED_TYPE_TRACKBALL" type in the API. It is included only after the 4.2.1 Api's.

If so try substitute LED.setState (1,LED.STATE_ON)

LED.LED_TYPE_TRACKBALL - takes the value one.

I hope it will rather solve your problem.
Offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 03:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Model: 8100
Carrier: rogers
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Still get error :(

hi rose,

I tries what u mentioned, but i still get the same error. (and i am using the new api with my firmware updated too - 4.2.1)

Symbol "LEDsetState" not found


I downloaded the "color pearl " app and it works fine but u access it through the phones "Options->" menu and not a java app.


I am at a stand still and any more advice would be much appreciated.


Thank You.

E
Offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 01:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Model: 8100
Carrier: rogers
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I got it :)

Hello,

Well u were right. I was compiling with the proper library, but when i was converting my .jar to .cod file i was still using the old lib.

So all is kosher and works now

Thanks for help

E.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.