BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2007, 12:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 87
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default BB JDE - Can't install "Hello World" example via BB Desktop Mgr / App Loader.

Please Login to Remove!

Hi Folks,

Much thanks if anyone can help with this. Here goes...

Model: 8700c
v4.1.0.194
JDE: 4.2.1.40
Installation method: Blackberry Desktop Manager / Application Loader
BB experience: NEWBIE

I'm trying to get started with development for Blackberries. I've downloaded the JDE and some sample applications (namely "Hello World") from RIM's website. The application runs fine from the JDE, but it doesn't work when I try to run it on the actual device. In fact it messes up* my whole device when I try to run it. I've got the device un-"messed up" but each time I try to reload it, it "messes up" the device again.

I haven't successfully installed any JDE-built applications to the actual device, so I'm sure I'm just missing a step or something like that.

I've tried to follow the Distribution instructions in the Blackberry Development Guide. Here's what I'm doing:

1) Download the HelloWorld.zip and unzip it.
2) Open the JDE, and then open the workspace Helloworld.jdw.
[The project Helloworld.jdp opens automatically].
3) Open the Helloworld.java
4) Request Signatures (under Build menu) [even though no signatures are really needed for this app].
5) Project | Generate ALX file.

At this point, I can "Build All and Run" under the "Build" menu. Application works nice- and-purdy-like in the simulator which automatically opens from the JDE. So I try to install it on the device...

6) Connect the device via the USB cable.
7) Open the BB Desktop Manager, and then the Application Loader inside.
8) "Welcome to the Application Loader Wizard". Next.
9) Check the "Detect Communication Port" checkbox, and it auto detects the port. Next
10) "Device Application Selection" screen shows everything checked except for my new "Helloworld" app. I click the "Add" button and the "Open" dialog box shows my new Helloworld.ALX. I select it and then click next.
11) "Completing the Application Loader Wizard" form appears and tells me that the "Hello World" application will be installed or updated. I click finish.
12) The Application Loader goes through a series of check marks and progress bars, eventually ending with a new form: "The loading operation was successful" - "Your device's software has been updated successfully". I click close.
13) Now the screen on my Blackberry device displays a spinning hourglass, and blinks on and off for about 2 minutes. But eventually it does indeed appear to load the application on the actual device and stops the spinning and blinking.
14) So now I have my pretty new Helloworld application sitting under the Applications "folder" on my blackberry. The blackberry seems to be working fine at this point.
15) But when I thumb-wheel to the application and click it to start it, the blackberry goes to the "messed up" state (Spinning hourglass with a blinking on and off screen). It seems to stay in the messed up state indefinitely, even over-night. Until I reload the OS via the Desktop manager.



So that's my problem. I'm hoping that I'm just missing something really stupid and obvious. Maybe skipping an important step, or something like that. Can anyone help me out here? Again, much thanks and salutations in advance if you can.

Mike

FOOT NOTES:
-------------
* When I say "messes up", I mean that the dreaded spinning hourglass appears, along with the screen blinking on and off. This "messed up" state can not be fixed by a soft reset nor a hard reset, but by reloading everything EXCEPT the "Hello World" application via the BB Desktop Manager / Application Loader. Sometimes it seems to require downloading and reloading the "OS" to fix it.
Offline  
Old 04-25-2007, 05:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 8800
Carrier: The New ;) AT&T
Posts: 60
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm pretty sure you can't use the JDE 4.2 to compile apps for 4.1 OS'es. You need to get the JDE 4.1.

Hope this helps....
Offline  
Old 05-02-2007, 09:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 87
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Knezek,

That was it. I was trying to use the JDE 4.2, when I should have been using the JDE 4.1. Now that I am, it works fine. Thanks for your help! BTW I found an "article" in the Blackberry Knowledge Base which supports what you said.

Livelink - Redirection

Thanks again!

Mike
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.