BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-30-2007, 10:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 7290
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 12
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Can you install MDS Runtime on BB device Over-The-Air (OTA) ?

Please Login to Remove!

Greetings,

We have about 100 BB devices located in a bunch of disperse field offices. To date, we've done all BB activity over-the-air (OTA). My users have never conencted their BB's to their computers using the Desktop Manager.

We have a BES running version 4.1.3.18, and we have developed our first MDS application. It is ready for deployment, but we need to have MDS Runtime installed on the BB devices.

Can we install MDS Runtime on the devices over-the-air, or must MDS Runtime be installed using the Desktop Manager software?

If OTA install is possible, please provide some direction on how accomplish it. Much appreciated.

RSR
Offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 11:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 7290
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 12
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Making some progreess ... still need assistance.

Update:

I located the file supplied by RIM, mdsruntimeOTA.exe, and extracted the folders and files. It has four folders, For_4.0.0, For_4.0.2, For_4.1.0, For_4.2.0.

I don't know what to do with them. There are no instructions (that I can find) on the RIM site or in the download, that instructs on how to proceed with the OTA install.

Guidance requested.

RSR
Offline  
Old 05-02-2007, 10:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 7290
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 12
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Wireless Application Deployment in the Enterprise

Update:

I am still making progress. I located a document published by RIM, "Wireless Application Deployment in the Enterprise." Here are the instructions from within that document that I followed:

1. Place the items from within mdsruntimeOTA.exe (folders: For_4.0.0, For_4.0.2, For_4.1.0, For_4.2.0.) on a web server.

2. Configure the web server. Set the MIME type for JAD files to text/vnd.sun.j2me.app-descriptor. The web server must also set the MIME type for COD files to application/vnd.rim.cod.

3. Configure the IT Policy on the BES to allow third-party applications.

Now, using the BlackBerry Browser, I can browse to the correct folder and open it. The instructions say to select the .jad file to download the application to the device. But, when I click on the .jad file, I see the text of the file. I expect to get an installation routine.

What am I doing wrong ?

RSR
Offline  
Old 05-02-2007, 11:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 7290
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 12
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Solved !

Update:

We are hosting the .jad & .cod files on an Apache web server, and we had not properly modified the mime.types file correctly in specifying how to handle JAD and COD files.

Once we got that resolved, the BB devices can download and install MDS Runtime OTA.

RSR
Offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 11:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
DrFooMod2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ, USA
Model: 8800
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 19
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Why aren't you pushing this by assigning a Software Configuration that contains the runtime to the device(s)? This is how I pushed the DST patch to all of our units. The docs for deploying the DST patch has Software Configuration instructions. Just do the same steps but for the MDS runtime.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.