BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2007, 05:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: don't know
Posts: 15
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Application Menu Problem

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

I develop a Client which is not for Blackberrys only. So it is writen as normal Midlet and I try to port it on a RIM device (at the moment it is a 8700). Actions which are normaly triggered by the softkeys, have to be triggered now by a menu connected to the trackwheel.

Thus, I wrote a own TrackwheelListener that creates a net.rim.device.api.ui.component.Menu.
and I added the Listener to my Application via:

Application.getApplication().addTrackwheelListener (new
MyTrackwheelListener());

The Menu works fine, but after it is closed there is still the standart menu, which is normaly there when I press the Trackwheel in a standart Midlet (it contains only the close item).

It seems to be a TrackwheelListener a level under my Application, because in my applicationlistenerslist is no other TrackwheelListener...

How can I eliminate it?

thx
Offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 03:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8707
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Proximus
Posts: 16
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello ungeildodger,

I'm new to BB developing, but I'll give it a shot
Does your class extend Screen or a subclass of it? If so, then it already implements TrackwheelListener. (see the HelloWorld example) It seems to me that you trigger both your custom TrackwheelListener and the standard TrackwheelListener. So, a matter of proper overriding will keep the standard one from appearing to my opinion.

Let us know if it helped you.

Best regards, L J.
Offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 10:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: don't know
Posts: 15
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I found the problem. The onClick method gives a boolean back. When it is false, it seems to use an internal fallback to a standart TrackwheelListener. If it is true ends right after my handling...
Offline  
Old 07-10-2007, 01:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 7290
PIN: N/A
Carrier: att
Posts: 10
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ungeildodger ,

I'm trying to do the same thing for my midlet. Are you just creating a class that implements the standard TrackWheenListener and then populating a Menu with MenuItems in it? I'm trying to get the position of the selected menu item when the use clicks the trackwheel, but have not any luck. Have you ran into any of these isssues? Thre is not point in extended a Screen class right?
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.