BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-28-2007, 10:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8703e
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Generate ALX Does Nothing?

Please Login to Remove!

Howdy,

I'm trying to use the BlackBerry JDE for the first time tonight. I'm working with the HelloWorld example. I can build and debug HelloWorld on my computer via the virtual device simulator but I want to load HelloWorld onto my real 8703e.

I believe that I need a COD AND ALX file to load HelloWorld onto my BB via the Desktop Manager over USB. I see the COD file but cannot find an ALX. Also, when I click "Generate ALX file" from the Project Menu nothing appears to happen.

I'm running JDE 4.1 (installed after JDE 4.2) on my VistaOS laptop.

What am I missing?

Thanks,

-mistergadgett
Offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 05:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Skipper_Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kharkov, Ukraine
Model: 8300
Carrier: N/A
Posts: 237
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you are right, you need cod and alx file to install via Desktop Manager. When you select "Generate ALX file", .alx file should be generated in project folder.

There is no UI notifications in JDE, just go and check folder after you click "Generate.."
Offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 08:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8703e
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Still not ALX Joy...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skipper_Joe View Post
you are right, you need cod and alx file to install via Desktop Manager. When you select "Generate ALX file", .alx file should be generated in project folder.

There is no UI notifications in JDE, just go and check folder after you click "Generate.."
Hummmm... might the ALX file have an extension other than ALX because I really don't see it there. If I find the COD file should the ALX file be in the same folder? (although I searched my hard drive for *.ALX and didn't come up with it).

Maybe WindowsVista is messing with the output of the JDE?

In what I believe to be the project folder, I see the following : COD, CSO, DEBUG, JAD, JAR, JDP, JDW, and RAPC files but no ALX.

Any other ideas?

-mistergadgett
Offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 08:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Skipper_Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kharkov, Ukraine
Model: 8300
Carrier: N/A
Posts: 237
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

don't know about Vista... I didn't work with it yet.

In fact alx is quite simple xml file, you can create it manually:

Code:
<loader version="1.0">
   <application id="HelloWord">
   <name>HelloWord</name>
   <version>0.0.1</version>
   <vendor>SkipperJoe, Inc.</vendor>
   <vendor>Skipper Joe</vendor>
   <fileset Java="1.18">
       <files>  HelloWord.cod </files>
   </fileset>
   </application>
</loader>
I understand that this is not elegant solution, but if you have no other way...
Offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 08:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8703e
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks... I'll try that.

Thanks Skipper_Joe! I'll give this a try. I'm also going to install JDE onto a WindowsXP machine and see how that goes.

Can I just create this ALX file in Windows Notepad?

Thanks again,

-mistergadgett

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skipper_Joe View Post
don't know about Vista... I didn't work with it yet.

In fact alx is quite simple xml file, you can create it manually:

Code:
<loader version="1.0">
   <application id="HelloWord">
   <name>HelloWord</name>
   <version>0.0.1</version>
   <vendor>SkipperJoe, Inc.</vendor>
   <vendor>Skipper Joe</vendor>
   <fileset Java="1.18">
       <files>  HelloWord.cod </files>
   </fileset>
   </application>
</loader>
I understand that this is not elegant solution, but if you have no other way...
Offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 08:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Skipper_Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kharkov, Ukraine
Model: 8300
Carrier: N/A
Posts: 237
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes, notepad is ok
Offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 03:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8703
PIN: N/A
Carrier: -
Posts: 7
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

I created an entry point to my application (in order to have a "live icon" at BB main screen).

But an entry point generates only the ALX file (no COD are created, once there is no source code).

I would like to know if it is possible to automatically install the entry point ALX at device when installing my application (through Desktop Manager or OTA).

Any ideas?

Thank´s a lot! Regards!
Offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 03:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Skipper_Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kharkov, Ukraine
Model: 8300
Carrier: N/A
Posts: 237
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ALX file is necessary for installation via Desktop Manager, it is not used for OTA.

it is not clear what means "entry point generates...". alx is generated by special menu command, sources are compiled to cod by other menu command.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright © 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.