BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-29-2007, 06:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: India
Model: 7230
Carrier: Airtel(india)
Posts: 18
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post Java.io.IOException:could not open tunnel - failed exception

Please Login to Remove!

Hello all,

I am using blackberry JDE 4.0.2 for developing standalone application.
i am getting this exception:Java.io.IOException:could not open tunnel - failed
when i try to run the application in the actual device which uses javax.microedition.io.httpConnection class to open a httpConnection.
But in the simulator it works fine and i am able to retrieve the the data.But i am facing this problem when i actually try to run the application on the actual blackberry device.I am using blackberry 7230.
Any help on this will be appreciated.

thanks in advance
Offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 06:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

problems opening a tunnel usually relate to the device needing to have it's apn set in options > advanced > TCP

also be sure that your http connection class is in it's own thread.
__________________
new job doesn't allow a public profile - please do not contact this user with questions, you will not get a response. good luck!
Offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 08:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: India
Model: 7230
Carrier: Airtel(india)
Posts: 18
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi jfisher ,

I am using Airtel india connection. they are telling APN details are not given to customers. Is there any way to make third party application which opens httpconnection across the network work...

Any other way to make it work????
Offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 08:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
CPO
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ottawa
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 14
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I take it you have a BIS account rather than a hosted BES? If that's the case then you could try appending ";deviceside=false" to the HTTP URL you are trying to connect to.
Offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 05:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 87
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

For what it's worth to anyone who might run into this problem in the future...

I was having exactly the same problem; the application ran fine on the simulator, but on the actual device (8700c) I got the same error:

Java.io.IOException: could not open tunnel - failed

Jfisher was right; my problem was an APN setup issue.

I searched around and found: "Mark's Big BerryFAQ" (on Blackberry Forums) and under that: "How to Configure Full Internet Access On BlackBerry".

BlackBerry Internet - MSN/chat/web/telnet/TCPIP - No BES!.

Mark has the APN, Username, and Password listed for many carriers. For example,

Cingular (orange)
APN: wap.cingular
Username: [email address]
Password: CINGULAR1

After I changed these settings, my error changed to:

Java.io.IOException: Bad DNS Address

However, that error seemed to go away after I unloaded and reloaded the application on the device a few times. Anyway, it seems to work fine now

Last edited by bbCincinnati : 07-30-2007 at 05:13 PM. Reason: add url
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.