BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2007, 10:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bulgaria
Model: none
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Mtel
Posts: 150
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How can i put hourglass cursor in my application?

Please Login to Remove!

I have a page that contains too many objects and i need to use hourglass cursor to indicate the openning process of this page and hide when the page opens
Offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 11:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Model: 7103
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 259
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I use
Status.show("page updating...");

it brings up a large block instead of a little hourglass but it works. I've also had a hard time using:

Bitmap bitmap = new Bitmap(Bitmap.HOURGLASS, 25, 25);
Status.show("page updating...", bitmap, 1000);

as the Bitmap.HOURGLASS throws an exception on a bunch of devices, for some reason I can't understand
Offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 11:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bulgaria
Model: none
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Mtel
Posts: 150
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default not exactly

Yes I tried these two ways but i need only hourglass without dialog...You have seen the hourglass of some BlackBerry, maybe...It is not like this bitmap image that you told me about...so i need the hourglass of the blackberry OS...If someone knows more about that , write please
Offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 01:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: CLDC
Posts: 29
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post HOURGLASS Cursor

Hi,
U can put a HOURGLASS cursor this way.......

Bitmap bitmap=Bitmap.getPredefinedBitmap(Bitmap.HOURGLASS );
Status.show("plz Wait",bitmap,3000);


It will not through any exception.......
Offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 03:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

regarding the original request - it's not possible to invoke the system level hourglass notification programmatically
__________________
new job doesn't allow a public profile - please do not contact this user with questions, you will not get a response. good luck!
Offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 04:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bulgaria
Model: none
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Mtel
Posts: 150
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, In fact I realized that some time ago, you can put a dialog boxes with bitmap picture on them with something that look like hourglass or something else, but i needed the system hourglass. I realized that it shows sometimes when the system is working hard.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.