BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2007, 09:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bulgaria
Model: none
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Mtel
Posts: 150
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How can i put hourglass cursor in my application?

Please Login to Remove!

I have a page that contains too many objects and i need to use hourglass cursor to indicate the openning process of this page and hide when the page opens
Offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 10:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Model: 7103
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 259
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I use
Status.show("page updating...");

it brings up a large block instead of a little hourglass but it works. I've also had a hard time using:

Bitmap bitmap = new Bitmap(Bitmap.HOURGLASS, 25, 25);
Status.show("page updating...", bitmap, 1000);

as the Bitmap.HOURGLASS throws an exception on a bunch of devices, for some reason I can't understand
Offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 10:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bulgaria
Model: none
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Mtel
Posts: 150
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default not exactly

Yes I tried these two ways but i need only hourglass without dialog...You have seen the hourglass of some BlackBerry, maybe...It is not like this bitmap image that you told me about...so i need the hourglass of the blackberry OS...If someone knows more about that , write please
Offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 12:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: CLDC
Posts: 29
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post HOURGLASS Cursor

Hi,
U can put a HOURGLASS cursor this way.......

Bitmap bitmap=Bitmap.getPredefinedBitmap(Bitmap.HOURGLASS );
Status.show("plz Wait",bitmap,3000);


It will not through any exception.......
Offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 02:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

regarding the original request - it's not possible to invoke the system level hourglass notification programmatically
__________________
new job doesn't allow a public profile - please do not contact this user with questions, you will not get a response. good luck!
Offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 03:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bulgaria
Model: none
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Mtel
Posts: 150
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, In fact I realized that some time ago, you can put a dialog boxes with bitmap picture on them with something that look like hourglass or something else, but i needed the system hourglass. I realized that it shows sometimes when the system is working hard.
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.