BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-27-2007, 12:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 8100
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 54
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Get a handle to an application screen that I launched?

Please Login to Remove!

Hi all,

I have a UiApplication that launches another application from within it. I'm launching the Profiles application using invokeLater.
When I launch it, the Profiles application is in focus and *seems* to be the active screen, however, when I call UiApplication.getUiApplication.getActiveScreen() it always reports back to me the name of MY application screen.
I've even gone so far as to launch a separate thread that reports the active screen every second or so, and it also always reports the name of my screen.

Is there any way for me to get a handle to the Profiles application dialog screen?

Thanks in advance!
Offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 01:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 11
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

When you say always, do you mean that it NEVER tells you the active screen is the new app you opened? Or just when you start it up? Is it possible the app you are starting has the same name, so it looks like you've never changed the active screen?

Alternatively, maybe because it's launched inside your first app, the parent app name is always returned because the app you loaded is just another instance of it.

Both these situations are only possibilities if you can NEVER return the new apps name. Both these ideas could also be wrong. Just some ideas.
Offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 10:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 8100
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 54
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuntushi View Post
When you say always, do you mean that it NEVER tells you the active screen is the new app you opened? Or just when you start it up? Is it possible the app you are starting has the same name, so it looks like you've never changed the active screen?

Alternatively, maybe because it's launched inside your first app, the parent app name is always returned because the app you loaded is just another instance of it.

Both these situations are only possibilities if you can NEVER return the new apps name. Both these ideas could also be wrong. Just some ideas.
The application I am running is called "Sandbox", and I launch the built-in "Profiles" (The speaker icon) application. I want to be able to get a handle to the screen that is displayed by the Profiles application.
Offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 04:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
CPO
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ottawa
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 14
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No, you can't get the pointer to a Screen that is owned by an outside application.

UiApplication.getUiApplication() will always return your own application instance
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.