BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2007, 04:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Hutch
Posts: 20
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Do I need BES ?

Please Login to Remove!

Hi ,

I am new to BlackBerry.So Please forgive me if I asked simple question...

I don't know whether I need BES or not for my purpose. Please help me to find it out. It will be really helpful to me

I want to develop mobile application mostly offline scenario. which will talk with middleware and Middleware engine has the capability to integrate with backend.

I developed simple module in mobile application, in which data between mobile application and backend system were synchronized with the help of middleware engine.

In above case, all applications were residing within my enterprise. But middleware can integrate with the back end system which is out side of our enterprise.

What benefits BES will provide to me, If I will put mobile application into BES ?

and

How BES will integrate with my middleware application ?

Regards,
Amit
Offline  
Old 07-11-2007, 08:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 9000
Carrier: SFR
Posts: 48
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you stay offline you don't need BES.
Bes is usefull for deploying enterprise solution.
If you don't have a bes and you re using tcp socket connection
users (or the company) will have to subscribe to expensive data plan.
Offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 12:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Hutch
Posts: 20
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by egalexe View Post
If you stay offline you don't need BES.
Bes is usefull for deploying enterprise solution.
If you don't have a bes and you re using tcp socket connection
users (or the company) will have to subscribe to expensive data plan.
Hi ,
Thanks for your reply..

Can you please explain in detail "If you stay offline you don't need BES" ?

I came to know using BES will be useful for Deploying and will get Security of data being transport between BES and handhelds . Is there any thing more than it ?

Regards,
Amit
Offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 09:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 9000
Carrier: SFR
Posts: 48
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

If you re application is offline you will not use your network so you will not reach your bes ... .. .
Offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 01:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Hutch
Posts: 20
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by egalexe View Post
Hi,

If you re application is offline you will not use your network so you will not reach your bes ... .. .
I mean offline application by user will synchronize data when he want or some periodically. So its not totally offline, but it will be online when data synchronization process will be requested.


and for developing any application and testing it do I need BES ?
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.