BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-13-2007, 03:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: TMO
Posts: 26
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default java.lang.error on BlackBerry 8800

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

I'am having a weird error on two Blackberrys of our customers. They both use 8800s with RIM OS 4.2.1.73. Whenever they try to launch our applictation they get an "Uncaught Exception: java.lang.error", which is not a very specific error message.

I then got the log messages using ALT+lglg. Here is it:

Name: Error
GUID: 9c3cd62e3320b498
Zeit: Jul. 12, 2007 12:20:44
No detail message
net_rim_cldc
PersistentStore
getPersistentObject
0x9405

It seems the application always crashes the first time it trys to access the persistent store. Notice this is not due to application permissions, where it would say "Application Control assertIPCAllowed". We already ruled that out.

The application seems to run just fine on their 8700s, which are on the same BES. And there are also no problems on our 8800s, which use the same RIM OS version.

So as you see its pretty confusing, I checked for incompatible third party apps, but thats not the case, since our application is the only third party application on the phones. Also language settings seem to be alright too, I heard that might cause the error.

At first I thought the 8800 of our customer is just broken, but now two devices show the same behaviour.

Any advice?
Offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 07:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
No longer Registered.
 
Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Atlanta
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.138
PIN: 31a6c9c9
Carrier: Verizon BIS
Posts: 13,963
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jan.g View Post
Hi,

I'am having a weird error on two Blackberrys of our customers. They both use 8800s with RIM OS 4.2.1.73. Whenever they try to launch our applictation they get an "Uncaught Exception: java.lang.error", which is not a very specific error message.

I then got the log messages using ALT+lglg. Here is it:

Name: Error
GUID: 9c3cd62e3320b498
Zeit: Jul. 12, 2007 12:20:44
No detail message
net_rim_cldc
PersistentStore
getPersistentObject
0x9405

It seems the application always crashes the first time it trys to access the persistent store. Notice this is not due to application permissions, where it would say "Application Control assertIPCAllowed". We already ruled that out.

The application seems to run just fine on their 8700s, which are on the same BES. And there are also no problems on our 8800s, which use the same RIM OS version.

So as you see its pretty confusing, I checked for incompatible third party apps, but thats not the case, since our application is the only third party application on the phones. Also language settings seem to be alright too, I heard that might cause the error.

At first I thought the 8800 of our customer is just broken, but now two devices show the same behaviour.

Any advice?
it happens mostly after deletion of a program. Where I have seen it happen quite frequently is if they delete memo pad or tasks
Offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 07:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: TMO
Posts: 26
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Dawg, we already tried this on a 8800, where we installed a fresh RIM OS. No modification where made, still the same error.
Offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 08:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
No longer Registered.
 
Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Atlanta
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.138
PIN: 31a6c9c9
Carrier: Verizon BIS
Posts: 13,963
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jan.g View Post
Hi Dawg, we already tried this on a 8800, where we installed a fresh RIM OS. No modification where made, still the same error.
what apps are you running it could be a bad app
Offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 11:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: TMO
Posts: 26
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well there're no third party apps on the device besides ours, and our application should be stable and pretty much bug-free by now. It has been in development for a long time and there are plenty of devices (7290, 8700, Pearls and 8800s), where it runs smoothly.

We even found an 8800 with the same RIM OS Version and no error occured. Which lets me think this might be BES specific, but why would it then work on the 8700s and not 8800s?

Don't know I'm starting to believe both 8800 devices are coincidencely broken somehow
Offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 12:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
No longer Registered.
 
Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Atlanta
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.138
PIN: 31a6c9c9
Carrier: Verizon BIS
Posts: 13,963
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jan.g View Post
Well there're no third party apps on the device besides ours, and our application should be stable and pretty much bug-free by now. It has been in development for a long time and there are plenty of devices (7290, 8700, Pearls and 8800s), where it runs smoothly.

We even found an 8800 with the same RIM OS Version and no error occured. Which lets me think this might be BES specific, but why would it then work on the 8700s and not 8800s?

Don't know I'm starting to believe both 8800 devices are coincidencely broken somehow

Im am sorry then I am out of ideas.
Offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 03:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: TMO
Posts: 26
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

we finally resovled the issue. Turned out to be some wrong settings in the BES policies. What still confuses me why it then only showed up on 8800s and not the other devices.
Offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 08:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Model: 8700
Carrier: KPN
Posts: 13
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What options did you change on the BES. We're experiencing the same problem with our Bloomberg application that get pushed out to the BB's.

Thanks.

Erik
Offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 08:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Model: 8700
Carrier: KPN
Posts: 13
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Found it!

It was the BES security policy "Allow Third Party Apps to use Persistent Store"
Set this to true and bingo. java.lang.error was gone.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.