BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-23-2007, 11:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: no
PIN: N/A
Carrier: airtel
Posts: 12
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default BES 4.2.1 installation help

Please Login to Remove!

Hi
can anyone help with BES 4.2.1 installation please.which type of setup type i should use for remote(client) system ? and which type for server system?
we need blackberry MDS services for our application.
so is it ok to install BlackBerry MDS connection service setup type(page 7 of install BES PDF) on remote(client) system.
and is it ok to install BlackBerry Enterprise Server with BlackBerry MDS Services on server system? what is BlackBerry controller,BlackBerry Manager,BlackBerry components?
and do we need sp3a for this . we have sqlserver 2000 with sp3.
please please somebody help soon.

Thanks a bunch
Offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 06:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,631
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There aren't any changes in the database engine from 3 to 3a. SP3 work fine ... but be aware that Microsoft no longer supports SP3 or SP3a and you should look to be applying SP4 (works fine for me with 3.6, 4.0, and 4.1.

I'm pretty sure you're not installing 4.2.1 ... perhaps 4.1.2? You might want to look to 4.1.4 too.

You can install everything you mentioned ... you can read more about the individual components in the install and admin guide.
Offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 11:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: no
PIN: N/A
Carrier: airtel
Posts: 12
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default BES 4.1.2 installation help

Hi
Thanks A LOT for the reply. you are right. here BES is 4.1.2 & sql server 2000 sp4. for sql server we are using sqlauthentication ,username 'sa' & no password. but in BES installation when using windows authentication it is asking for password.
do we have to use sql authentication in BES installation (on the server)also then i think we have to give password in SQL server 2000 configuration (we have to change this configuration with password, then we have to change in the applications also.becos in applications we are connecting to database using only username & password blank).
please help regarding this.thankyou so much.
Regards
Offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 06:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,631
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you're using windows authentication for SQL it won't ask for a password; it'll ask for the Windows username of the service that you want the BES to run as however.

I use windows auth and sql auth with the DB in different scenarios; both work just fine.

How do you want to do authentication?
Offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 07:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: no
PIN: N/A
Carrier: airtel
Posts: 12
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi
Thankyou again so much.
we are not sure which authentication to use for BES installation. as given in install pdf doc. page 13, if you are using sql authentication for sqlserver, we have to use sqlauthentication for BES also.
but if we can use windows authentication in BES installation and if it works fine , that is enought for us.
we tried with windows autherntication in BES installation , it asked for password,which we are not using to connect to database.username we gave is 'sa'.
here in our application we have to use http connection , opening internet things like that. for that purpose we need MDS emulator which requires BES.
so is it ok to use windows authentication on the server?pl. help regarding this.
Regards
Offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 10:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,631
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Use SQL Auth; its easy (and you'll need sql auth for mdss anyway).

Create a new account for the besadmin in sql; and then assign it permissions (server administrator and database creator)

also, rim_db_bes_server role on the BESMgmt database
Offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 11:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: no
PIN: N/A
Carrier: airtel
Posts: 12
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi
Thankyour for the great help.we'll try this & get back to you.
Regards
Offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 06:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: no
PIN: N/A
Carrier: airtel
Posts: 12
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi
hdawg
i created new account in sqlserver with admin role.then i tried sql authentication in BES installation it is saying upgrade your sqlserver with sp3a or later.
the folng is o/p with select @@version query :
Microsoft SQL Server 2000 - 8.00.194 (Intel X86)
Aug 6 2000 00:57:48 Copyright (c) 1988-2000
Microsoft Corporation Enterprise Edition on
Windows NT 5.0 (Build 2195: Service Pack 4).

here the sql server version 8.00.194 on the server.and it is Original Release.
The OS is Win 2000 advanced version(sp4).It is the same system that we are using for BES installation.
so is the problem is with 'originalrelease' dowe have to upgrade it to sp3/sp3a or sp4?
Regards
Offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 06:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,631
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

... upgrade to SP4
Offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 06:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: no
PIN: N/A
Carrier: airtel
Posts: 12
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok . Thankyou so much for your time. we'll try that.Thanks a lot.
have great weekend.
Regards
Offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 11:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: no
PIN: N/A
Carrier: airtel
Posts: 12
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default BES 4.1.2 installation help

Hi Hdawg
we installed BES on server with MDS services . during database configuration , default database BESMgmt is created with Admin roles.and Port number etc.. we gave all defaults only.
now we configured on a remote system ( Windows 2000 prof.) with MDS Connection services. kindly help us how to proceed .do we have to create our tables only in BESMgmt database? we have our tables in another database called "BBBD". we gave same rights for BBBD as BESMgmt.
do we still need Apache tomcat (webserver we are using for servlets)?? if not where to keep the our servlets (in which we are connecting database to retrieve data from BBBD). How to start the MDS simulator? we have downloaded Blackberry Email and MDS services simulators 4.1.2. When we start that MDS.exe ,the cmd window it is giving some Exceptions like "Not authorised use 8080( our tomcat port is configured to 7000) ,
XSL stylesheet not found http://www.blackberry.net/go/mobile/...p/mappings2pro
p.xsl: Resource could not be found>
<2007-10-16 17:13:26.859 GMT+05:30>:[131]:<MDS-CS_MDS>:<DEBUG>:<LAYER = IPPP, HA
NDLER = HTTP, EVENT = SentToServer, CONNECTIONID = 0,

etc.. iam not able to figure out what these error are and how to use MDS simulator,BES server.


we tried to install on another system(XP sp2),its asking for windows password.there is no password for that system.if left blank its saying "password cannot be blank".

please give your help regarding this.
Regards
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.