BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-24-2005, 04:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default opening a http-connection

Please Login to Remove!

hi,
i am using a 7290 on a BES. and i'd like to open a http-connection in a program of mine, mainly to transfer data to a php-page/sql-database.
when i try to open the connection i only get an alert that my IT-policy permits this.
i searched the BES-administration for a setting but with no success.

is there a way to open a http-connection or do i have to use browser channel push?
Offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 08:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Metro NYC
Posts: 175
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The device will definitely allow what you want to do. Your company's IT policies, however, may prevent it.

Are you trying to open a connection to an internal (aka intranet) IP address or external IP address? The IT Policy can allow/disallow this.

From your description, the popup sounds like the built-in firewall warning you about your connection.
__________________
-- Aric Rosenbaum
BlackBerry consulting, BlackBerry development
www.arconsultinginc.com
BlackBerry consulting and development (RIM SI Partner)
Offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 06:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it actually was the IT-policy, "allow split pipe connections".
RIM KB

it seems that even when your app is designed to use only one connection it is possible that this flag has been set. trying to allow split pipe connections may solve the problem, as it did for me
Offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 01:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Model: 7280
Carrier: cingular, no wait, AT&T
Posts: 300
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

split pipes are a definate no-no. Basically, a split pipe happens whenever you try to connect with funky settings: like trying to use a WAP gateway when using BES. Once the application has done this, it gets stuck with a "naughty bit", that is, the program in question is "naughty".
Offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 03:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i did never specify any type of connection, just used
(HttpConnection)Connector.open(URL)
from the beginning and never changed it.
personally i don't think this is "naughty" but if you can tell me why i may be smarter then.
there are no other connections but a btssp and i would be very surprised if that caused the firewall to block because of split-pipe.
Offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 12:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
jwb
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Many
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 14
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It may just be that your service book is hosed up. Make sure your settings for IPPP and Blackberry Browser are correct and in-sync with your BES. For starters I would dock the handheld and generate a new key. This seems to resynchronize important settings.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.