BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-29-2007, 02:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 7
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation programming

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

just got my 8830. need to program something.

i installed RIM, and i get an error when I try to compile, and it says:
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Building myproj
C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry JDE 4.2.1\bin\rapc.exe -quiet import=..\lib\net_rim_api.jar codename=myproj myproj.rapc warnkey=0x52424200;0x52435200;0x52525400 "C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry JDE 4.2.1\bin\main.java"

I/O Error: Cannot run program "javac": CreateProcess error=2, The system cannot find the file specified
Error while building project
-------------------------------------------------------------------

Have you seen this error? Do you know how to fix this problem?
Please help!

The program I want to make is the following:
Im looking for a program that can control my phones (8830) profile setting according to what time it is during the day.

Example:
My phone automatically switches to SILENT from 8:00am - 5:00pm, and it switch back to SOUND from 5:01pm to 7:59am.

Does anyone know any software that I can download. Im willing to pay for it too, if it works.

So, if you dont know any programs like this, than please help me fix this error so i can program it myself.
Thanks.
-Sevak
Offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 02:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,667
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 84 Times in 65 Posts
Default

*Moved to Developer's Forum
Offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 02:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 7
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Clark View Post
*Moved to Developer's Forum
i knew i was in the wrong place.
Offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 02:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Model: 7103
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 259
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you need to ensure that your JAVA_HOME path variable is set in your environment. to do this, go to a command prompt and type 'echo %JAVA_HOME%'. if it's not set correctly or at all (one of which seems to be the case) go to
control panel -> advanced -> environment variables and add or edit the JAVA_HOME path variable, set it to the root directory of your java installation (something like c:\j2sdk1.4.2_14)
Offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 02:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 7
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default umm...

when i type anything after echo in CMD prompt, i end up getting anything.

example: 'echo %JAVA_HOME%'
gives me: %JAVA_HOME%

am i doing something wrong?

Anyways, I did what you said.
Control Panel->system->advance->enviromental variables->system vairable
and I added JAVA_PATH with value being the path.
im still getting the dang error.

PS - running WINDOWS XP.

Last edited by sevak316 : 08-29-2007 at 02:36 PM. Reason: forgot something
Offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 03:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Model: 7103
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 259
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the path variable you add should be "JAVA_HOME", not "JAVA_PATH". that should clear it up. also to test this, be sure to restart your jde and/or your command prompt, env variables are inserted at load time.
Offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 03:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 7
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation ok...

the path is set now because when I type "echo %JAVA_HOME%", it points to the directory (c:\jdk1.3.1_19).

However, I am still getting the same compile error.

Last edited by sevak316 : 08-29-2007 at 03:25 PM. Reason: spell
Offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 04:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Berlin
Model: 9500
OS: v4.7.0.78
PIN: 20CAFA18
Carrier: O2
Posts: 39
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You must have javac in your Path like the Pragram says. How the JAVA variable is named doesn't matter (in this particular case, in other cases it does). If your get it so far you must extend your Path with %JAVA_HOME%/bin;. You have it done if you can type javac in your command prompt and don't get something like 'unknown command'.
Offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 09:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 7
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default lost...

Quote:
Originally Posted by georg View Post
You must have javac in your Path like the Pragram says. How the JAVA variable is named doesn't matter (in this particular case, in other cases it does). If your get it so far you must extend your Path with %JAVA_HOME%/bin;. You have it done if you can type javac in your command prompt and don't get something like 'unknown command'.
ok, im sorry, but i lost you. what am i suppose to do?


---ok im trying right now and no succes. I have added the <path>\bin and still javac does not work in my cmd prompt.

Last edited by sevak316 : 08-30-2007 at 10:04 AM. Reason: update
Offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 10:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Model: 7103
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 259
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

actually, georg is right, I'm wrong. here's what you do:
in the environment variables area mentioned in this thread, scroll through system variables and look for variable "Path" then add the file system location (like C:\j2sdk1.4.2_14\bin;) to it
Offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 10:20 AM   #11 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Berlin
Model: 9500
OS: v4.7.0.78
PIN: 20CAFA18
Carrier: O2
Posts: 39
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default RE: lost

And what do you get if you enter javac in the command prompt? (don't forget to restart the command prompt after you change the Path)

You can make sure you have a program javac.exe in your java bin folder. (your version 1.3 seems a little bit old to me, you shold use java 1.4 for BlackBerry JDE 4.x and java 1.5 or newer for BlackBerry JDE4.2)

You can check if your path set correct by echoing it in the command prompt.
Offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 10:23 AM   #12 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 7
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation hey

sorry for the late response. I started school again and i am a busy berry. Anways, I got the "javac" to work in the cmd. However, JDE does NOT launch anymore. WHY??? I repaired it and reinstalled it, NOTHING. This is just wrong. Do you guys have any clue why this is happening?
Offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 08:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

wrong java version installed on your computer - can't remember the details, try searching the dev forum on blackberry.com
__________________
new job doesn't allow a public profile - please do not contact this user with questions, you will not get a response. good luck!
Offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 04:06 AM   #14 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: GPRS
Posts: 68
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

BlackBerry_JDE_4[1].2.1.exe + j2sdk-1_4_2-windows-i586.exe + jdk-1_5_0_07-windows-i586-p.exe
I installed the three files and the JDE works well. Also I set the JAVA_HOME as "D:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.5.0_07".

May be you can try it in this way!
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.