BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-30-2007, 09:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: India
Model: 8700g
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 117
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default no defination found error

Please Login to Remove!

Hi all,
I might be going wrong somwhere with the basic but am not able to figure out wht.
Here is the scenario:
I have a project in my JDE 4.2.0 => ProjectA.
In tht project i have a class classA (This class does not have a main method.)
I was able to build the project & a jar file was created.This is the build log

Building Library ...
C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry JDE 4.2.0\bin\rapc.exe -quiet import=..\lib\net_rim_api.jar codename=com\rim\samples\device\library\ProjectA
com\rim\samples\device\library\Library.rapc warnkey=0x4b505454;0x52424200;0x52435200;0x5252540 0 "C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry JDE 4.2.0\samples\com\rim\samples\device\library\Class A.java"
Warning!: No entry points found
Warning!: No definition found for exported static routine: .main(String[])
Library - no errors.
Build complete.

Then I have another project => ProjectB
In this project i have a class ClassB with the main mth.
I wanted to create an object of ClassA in ClassB. So i included ProjectA.jar in ProjectB through properties.Also impoerted the package "import com.rim.samples.device.library.ClassA;".
But while building ProjectB i get following build message :

com.rim.samples.device.library.ProjectA: Warning!: No definition found

What am doing wrong.Can someone pls help me.
Thank you in advance.
__________________
Thanks
Meenal
Offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 10:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Model: 7103
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 259
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

looks like you have a few problems here, firstly:
If you want to run an application on you need to have one class extend UiApplication like:
public class [YourClassName] extends UiApplication {

that class must implement:
public static void main(String[] args) {

[YourClassName] theApp = new [YourClassName]();
theApp.enterEventDispatcher();
}

as for part two of your question, it could be a couple of things. I'm not sure what you mean by included ProjectA.jar in ProjectB through properties. It also looks like you named your first class Class A.java. maybe that's a typo here, but the jre doesn't always play nice with filenames with spaces.
Offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 11:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bangladesh
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: EDGE
Posts: 93
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Meenal,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meenal View Post
Warning!: No definition found for exported static routine: .main(String[])
So far i've seen, your ProjectA is a library. If So, change your project settings of ProjectA as LIBRARY.

Cheers,
ARIF
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.