BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2007, 10:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: TDC
Posts: 115
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Running a background process program

Please Login to Remove!

Ive tried searching various documentation about this with no succes...

Ive made myself a push application that stores stuff on my blackberry. I want the Listener program that i made to startup automatically and run as a background process without the user knowing any of it.

any ideas?
Offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 01:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: TMobile
Posts: 5
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by genvej View Post
Ive tried searching various documentation about this with no succes...

Ive made myself a push application that stores stuff on my blackberry. I want the Listener program that i made to startup automatically and run as a background process without the user knowing any of it.

any ideas?
Maybe you want to look up TimerTask API. Using this you can schedule a thread to run at either a specific time or intervals. Also if you do not have any UI elements in your JDE application, nothing will be displayed to the user.
Offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 01:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: TDC
Posts: 115
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kalyanbk View Post
Also if you do not have any UI elements in your JDE application, nothing will be displayed to the user.
Well... the applicationicon is still displayed for the user to press... what happens then?? 2 instances of the same service?
Offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 02:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

select 'system module' and 'run on startup' or whatever it is in the project properties
__________________
new job doesn't allow a public profile - please do not contact this user with questions, you will not get a response. good luck!
Offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 02:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 44
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You also may want to see, the "Howto create a background thread example"

Livelink - Redirection
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.