BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-01-2005, 08:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 21
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default T-MOBILE usa, some problems with HTTP request

Please Login to Remove!

Hi all,

I've received some complains from T-MOBILE users. My BB application sends backup by email. It send them through an HTTP gateway (I know I should use the email API from BB, this is a piece of code that I kept from the J2ME version).

I use GET requests.

Are there anybody who had the same problem? If I send them by POST, will it fix the problem or has T-MOBILE a very strict policy concerning HTTP request?

Olivier
Offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 02:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Model: 7280
Carrier: cingular, no wait, AT&T
Posts: 300
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

HTTP gateway? do you mean WAP Gateway? do you tack on the WAP gateway stuff on the end of your URL string? or are you using the built in tcp stack?
For me, T-mobile's devices came with bad (very awful) service books that prevented anything from working.
Offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 02:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 21
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoomBringer
HTTP gateway? do you mean WAP Gateway? do you tack on the WAP gateway stuff on the end of your URL string? or are you using the built in tcp stack?
For me, T-mobile's devices came with bad (very awful) service books that prevented anything from working.
No I meant a web server script which redirects the http request to an email address.

Well thanks for the information
Offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 03:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Model: 7280
Carrier: cingular, no wait, AT&T
Posts: 300
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, HTTP connections are tricky bits of work.
If you're running a 3.7 device, you have to use a WAP gateway (carrier specific)
3.8, you should have a native TCP stack
BES/MDS, no work on your part is needed.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.