BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-10-2007, 06:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: att
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Strange new error

Please Login to Remove!

I've been successfully running the simulator and JDE for the last week or so.
All of a sudden the following error crops up no matter which simulated app I try to run on the simulator:

Error inside JVM: Access violation reading from 0x0000000C.


I googled this and got all kinds of responses, but none related specifically to
the Blackberry simulator. Once reference from the BES (BlackBerry Enterprise Server) handbook identified this as a
0x0000000c Invalid Owner Change

error.

I suspect that has nothing to do with this as I'm not running a BES.


I figured this was a problem with my virtual machine, and reinstalled both
my java 1.6 virtual machine , and while I was at it the whole j2dk 6 java environment, just to be safe.

None of this helped.

I loaded the simulator on another server running the same windows environment (W2K with Service Pack 6) and there I have no problems.
But that server cannot regularly be used for testing/development purposes,
so I'd like to get me test server back up and running.

thought to look in the event viewer:
I'm getting the following error over and over:

A driver packet received from the I/O subsystem was invalid. The data is the packet.

The problem has to do with a device called LanmanRedirector but when I googled that with the error code I found nothing.

Appreciate any thought you might have.

Thks
Offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 04:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: att
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Update

Still don't know what caused this error. But here was my resolution:

Uninstall the jde sdk and simulator.
Reboot computer (this is critical!!)
reload jde and simulator.

I still don't know what cause the problem to occur in the first place,
cause this is a rather time consuming "fix"

Hope it does not reoccur anytime soon.

Serge
Offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 02:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Model: 8320
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I encountered a similar problem and realized i was trying to run an application built with the 4.1 JDE, in a 4.2 simulator.

Once i ran the application in a 4.2 JDE simulator everything worked.

Also make sure you are using correct version of java. JDE 4.2 requires jdk 1.5
Offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 11:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: idk
Posts: 84
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Same thing happened to me...
What I did was run the clean.bat file found in the simulator/bin folder.
Try this first if you get this error
__________________
Stop telling me what it can do...
Show me how to make it do it!!!!
Offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 08:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 6
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Strange New Error

This problem also exists in 4.7 on the BB storm JDE simulation.

The fix is indeed to run Program Files/Research In Motion...../Simulator/clean.bat

i.e. just double click that file from Windows File Explorer and it'll run the batch file and you can just run the debugger again and it'll work this time with the simulator.

Note that what started this problem was when I decided to load my test program to my BB storm and I had kept the development IDE open at the same time.

Hope this helps
-D
Offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 06:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 8800
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had the same problem show up on several simulators, and with the attitude that I had nothing to lose deleted all of the .dmp files that had been created thinking that this would at least put me close to the original state. Don't know how or why, but it fixed the problem with little effort.
Offline  
Old 08-19-2009, 10:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 15
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Same thing with JDE 4.5 and Sprint 8830

I'm facing the same issue with only my Sprint 8830 emulator. It seems to have happened after I installed JDE 4.5 and Simulator 4.5. The 4.5 simulator still works but the Sprint 8830-4.2.2.123 emulator crashes on startup with
Application Error - BlackBerry Device Simulator
-----------------------------------------------
Error inside JVM:
Access violation reading from 0x00000010

I tried reinstalling the simulator. I also rebooted (after reinstalling then getting the error again).This renders it completely useless. Any other advice before I uninstall everything?
Offline  
Old 08-19-2009, 10:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Delete the *.dmp files in the simulator directory and try this again.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.