BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2007, 07:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: student
Posts: 14
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default @JDE - enable generics

Please Login to Remove!

Hello,

i want to use generics. I become this message when i try to use generics:
generics are not supported in -source 1.3
(try -source 1.5 to enable generics)

My Question is, how to become/install the source 1.5 and when i program with the source 1.5, do function the programs on all BlackBerry's or must i install the source on all BlackBerry's too?

Thanks for your Help,
greeting speedo

** Sorry for my English **
Offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 10:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 44
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What development environment are you using?
RIM IDE, Eclipse, NetBeans

Anyway i'm pretty sure, that you cannot use Generics in your BlackBerry application. Because the BB API is only full compatibel up to Java 1.4 and there are no generic datatypes supported.

So, i would recommend to don't use Generics and set the java compliance level to 1.4.
Offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 08:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: student
Posts: 14
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

BlackBerry JDE
Offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 05:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Model: none
PIN: N/A
Carrier: none
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Is this still true?

Looking at one of the newer API's Vectors (which use generics) are listed.

Does this mean that the blackberries are now 1.5 compliant? If so, how do I tell the RIM JDE to compile using 1.5? I have an application which must be at least partially functional in a few days and this is preventing compilation. This is one of the few stumbling blocks we have come across, any help would be greatly appreciated.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

National Instruments NI SCXI-1001 Mainframe Chassis
$199.0
National Instruments NI SCXI-1001 Mainframe Chassis pictureKeithley 7001 Switch System Control/Mainframe TESTED
$139.99
Keithley 7001 Switch System Control/Mainframe TESTED pictureTEKTRONIX TM506 Mainframe with modules - DM501, DM502 & PS503A Power Supply
$124.99
TEKTRONIX TM506 Mainframe with modules - DM501, DM502 & PS503A Power Supply pictureTektronix 7313 Oscilloscope Mainframe Only
$58.88
Tektronix 7313 Oscilloscope Mainframe Only pictureTTC JDSU MTS8000 CDRW P1610 Tester Mainframe C8310 V2 C8311 TMAC Mod ATT TESTKIT
$1350.0
TTC JDSU MTS8000 CDRW P1610 Tester Mainframe C8310 V2 C8311 TMAC Mod ATT TESTKIT picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.