BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-25-2007, 11:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Morocco
Model: 7250
PIN: N/A
Carrier: non
Posts: 15
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default BB and database ?

Please Login to Remove!

Hello
i'm new in app at BB
i will create application with database for all users of the app
how i can do it with JDE of BB ? that i must have BES ? or maybe i can use Internet app without it ?

Thanks for avance
__________________
Yours Mostafa

Last edited by mostafa : 09-25-2007 at 11:09 AM.
Offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 02:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you could implement a database using the storing mechanisms of the device. not an easy task though, commercial software featuring this is quite expensive.

the easiest solution is to use a web-interface like a php-page to read and put data. not very performant though.

if you want to handle more complex data you can write a server application and communicate using sockets or use a self-written webservice (we use apache axis and ksoap for example).
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 06:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Morocco
Model: 7250
PIN: N/A
Carrier: non
Posts: 15
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks simon

if i will use a web_interface when i can save my data? and about a server application that we must have a BES ?
__________________
Yours Mostafa
Offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 07:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

if you use a php page you can save data from the blackberry by calling a php-page with a parameter i.e. "http://yoursever.com/sendData.php?"+data .
the php-page writes all parameters into a sql databse.
that's okay to put small strings into a database - it is not performant nor secure.

if you write yourself a server or use webservices: you don't need a BES as long as you can reach them from the internet.
Having a BES adds the encryption and let you use a server in your lan, less work for you and more security.
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 07:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Morocco
Model: 7250
PIN: N/A
Carrier: non
Posts: 15
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok
thanks simon for this explaine
__________________
Yours Mostafa
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.