BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-02-2007, 07:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Morocco
Model: 7250
PIN: N/A
Carrier: non
Posts: 15
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Mds Or Jde ?

Please Login to Remove!

Plz
what's a difference between MDS STUDIO AND JDE ?
__________________
Yours Mostafa
Offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 08:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Model: 8830
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 144
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The MDS Studio is a quick and easy way to develop an application that interfaces/interacts with a web service. The MDS Studio requires very little programming knowledge because you can drag and drop the data/fields that you want to use and place them on the screen.

The JDE provides more customization of the application. The JDE requires Java programming knowledge and can allow more control over the display/fields if you need to do so, or use of different data connections.

There's also a 3rd option now using a plug-in for the MS Visual Studio. I'm not very familiar with this option and what you can do.

Which one you choose depends on what you are trying to do. If you have a web service and all you want to do is display/enter data, then the MDS Studio would be the easiest way to go. If you're building a game, then the JDE will be required. The plug-in would probably be for something in between.

fbrimm
Offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 09:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Morocco
Model: 7250
PIN: N/A
Carrier: non
Posts: 15
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks
And MDS STUIO don't required BES ? i can work in it witout having BES ?
and if i have old app with JDE i can use it in the futur in MDS and vice versa?
__________________
Yours Mostafa

Last edited by mostafa : 10-02-2007 at 09:08 AM.
Offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 12:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Model: 8830
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 144
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

MDS Studio requires the BES.

The MDS Studio code and JDE code are not interchangeable (at least not from the surface).

fbrimm
Offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 03:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 140
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

MDS Studio and Plugin for Visual Studio output the same type of application... just the development methodology is a bit different to match that of Visual Studio.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

NEW OMEGABUS D3172 Omega RS485 to Analog Output Module
$50.0
NEW OMEGABUS  D3172 Omega RS485 to Analog Output Module pictureCincinnati Serial/Analog CNC Computer Card VME Rack Mount Autoform PLC Control
$500.0
Cincinnati Serial/Analog CNC Computer Card VME Rack Mount Autoform PLC Control pictureMeasurement Computing 16 Channel PCI Analog Interface Board PCI-DAS1000
$100.0
Measurement Computing 16 Channel PCI Analog Interface Board PCI-DAS1000 pictureComputer Analog Instrument Number Readout German 24 Volt FS066 National Lab Lot
$100.0
Computer Analog Instrument Number Readout German 24 Volt FS066 National Lab Lot  pictureMEASUREMENT COMPUTING 193791A-01 PCI-DAS1000 ANALOG MULTIFUNCTION 16 CH BOARD
$199.0
MEASUREMENT COMPUTING 193791A-01 PCI-DAS1000 ANALOG MULTIFUNCTION 16 CH BOARD picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.