BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-08-2005, 12:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
jwb
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Many
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 14
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default JDE 4.0.1 with location API

Please Login to Remove!

Does ANYONE have 4.0.1 working with the location API on the 7520 simulator? I find it absurd that the 4.0.1 update has no installer, and requires the user to copy dozens of files by hand. I finally got to where I can compile the "gspdemo" (HA! nice QA department!) but I can't load the simulator. It complains that the locationapi library is either unavailable or duplicated, depending on how I do it.

Any help appreciated.
Offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 02:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Model: 8320
Carrier: T-Mo
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Having a similar problem...

I'm able to compile a demo that uses location api code, and it runs on a real 7520, but in the simulated 7520 it fails with:

Brittle timestamp mismatch with 'net_rim_cldc'
Linker error: 'VerifyError' for net_rim_locationapi
Brittle timestamp mismatch with 'net_rim_cldc'
Linker error: 'VerifyError' for TestLocation
Error starting TestLocation: Brittle timestamp mismatch with 'net_rim_cldc'

I'd updated the JDE with 4.0.1 per the directions.
Any ideas???
Offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 03:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: n/a
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There was a note associated with the release (somewhere - just been searching, unable to locate) that states that the location APIs ONLY work on a live device, and not in the simulator.
Offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 07:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Model: 8700r
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 221
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

TokenUser - You are absolutely correct only works on live devices...this will be a pain!
Offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 01:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7520
Carrier: Nextel
Posts: 13
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

dzeims, where did you get the demo and what does it allow you to do? Is this the demo that came with the install? When I compiled the demo that came with the update and ran it on my phone it said I was missing components or something like that.
Offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 12:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: n/a
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LateNighter
dzeims, where did you get the demo and what does it allow you to do? Is this the demo that came with the install? When I compiled the demo that came with the update and ran it on my phone it said I was missing components or something like that.
Just to be clear - you know that these APIs ONLY work on a live phone, and the only phone that curretnly supports this API set is the 7520, which is Nextel only.

A lot of people are hanging out for GPS integration with other devices. Until then, you need to attach an external GPS via cable or BlueTooth.
Offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 11:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7520
Carrier: Nextel
Posts: 13
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, but has anyone been able to get the demo to work on a live 7520? When I ran it on my 7520 it said I was missing modules on the phone. Maybe I didn't install those?
Offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 08:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Model: 7520
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 7520 gspdemo

ok, so does this thing work in either the simulator or the device? I would like to do both, but at the moment can get neither to work. Help please...
Offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 12:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Model: 7520
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a 7520, and have the jde, but can't seem to find this "locator" class..

any samples? I would love to play around.
Offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 03:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Model: 7520
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am using a live 7520 and am getting the Error:
Error starting SPOT: Brittle timestamp mismatch with 'net_rim_cldc'

My 7520 had no net_rim_locationapi loaded so I loaded the one from the ...\BlackBerry JDE 4.0.2\simulator\Java directory.

Any ideas as to what's happening?

Thanks!
Offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 06:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Model: 7280
Carrier: cingular, no wait, AT&T
Posts: 300
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Im sure its obvious, but update the phone's OS to 4.0.1 first.
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.