This wipe described in post #2 is a "wipe" not a reset. Sounds stupid, but there is a different.
The wipe will clear ALL personal data from the BB. Contacts, messages, settings, etc. It will NOT delete Third Party Applications which you have installed. It wil NOT delete the OS.
A reset is different: How do I reset my BlackBerry? - BlackBerryFAQ