Originally Posted by jk009
1-Deleting the XML file allows the phone to use any carrier, right?
2-Will Verizon be able to know that I upgraded?
3-Will I lose any features on the phone or on the Verizon Network?
1. Deleting the XML file allows the OS to be installed on any carrier's phone.
2. Yes, but they don't care. There's nothing in the contract that says that you have to use the version of the OS it came with or their "approved" versions. That said, if you contact support about an issue, they may not support it because of the OS, but you can just downgrade back to their version and they will support that.
3. No. That same creepy "can you hear me now guy" follows me around everywhere no matter what version I'm on.
The 4.5 is a worthwhile upgrade because you get HTML e-mails, DocsToGo, and depending on if you're using it on a BES, a host of other neat features. Go for.