BlackBerryForums.com : Your Number One BlackBerry Community      

»Sponsored Links




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  (#1 (permalink)) Old
Earthdog Offline
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Posts: 35
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 8800
Carrier: Cingular
Default Bold online purchase advise - 08-30-2008, 04:27 PM

Ok, I am new to buying an unlocked phone. I have a great price from a OK company that tells me its an unlocked Bold. Should I worry about this or think twice?

BlackBerry Bold 9000

TIA,
Earthdog
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Please Login or Register to Remove these Advertisements!

  (#2 (permalink)) Old
NJBlackBerry Offline
Retired
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Posts: 17,704
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere In The Swamps of Jersey
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6
PIN: 3.1415926535
Carrier: T-Mobile
Default 08-30-2008, 04:31 PM

$400 is dirt cheap. That would send up a red flag to me.
Any way to find out more about them?
   
Reply With Quote
  (#3 (permalink)) Old
greggebhardt Offline
No longer Registered.
 
greggebhardt's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,764
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FLorida
Model: 9000!
PIN: NOT!
Carrier: AT&T
Default 08-30-2008, 04:32 PM

It says for $400 they will ship the same business day a Bold

What do you think?

RUN!
   
Reply With Quote
  (#4 (permalink)) Old
bertiebassett Offline
CrackBerry Addict
 
bertiebassett's Avatar
 
Posts: 923
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London, UK
Model: 8300
Carrier: O2
Default 08-30-2008, 04:42 PM

hmm have a look at this website, looks kind of similar.. The Cooker Store

the bit I love on that bold ad is "please order via email to [email address]"


8300 O2 (UK) - BES 4.1 SP6, Exchange 2003 SP2
LOTS of answers here: Main Page - BlackBerryFAQ
   
Reply With Quote
  (#5 (permalink)) Old
Foxglove Offline
CrackBerry Addict
 
Foxglove's Avatar
 
Posts: 850
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: o2
Default 08-30-2008, 03:44 PM

$400 is only £200, wayyyy too low plus why would a UK site advertise in dollars?

The cheapest UK sim free Bold from a proper retailer is around £38O.
   
Reply With Quote
  (#6 (permalink)) Old
poffman Offline
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auburn, WA
Model: 8320
OS: 4.2.2.180
Carrier: T-Mobile
Default 08-30-2008, 03:52 PM

Sounds like a scam to me. If that works out for ya let us know and we'll all order them too haha


The addiction Started with a Pearl...
Now I have a Curve 8320 in Titanium for T-Mobile
   
Reply With Quote
  (#7 (permalink)) Old
Foxglove Offline
CrackBerry Addict
 
Foxglove's Avatar
 
Posts: 850
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: o2
Default 08-30-2008, 03:52 PM

BTW look at this, very similar. The address turned out to be residential and the contact number was a mobile phone. Not good!

Blackberry Bold 9000

I would stay away.
   
Reply With Quote
  (#8 (permalink)) Old
bbswany Offline
CrackBerry Addict
 
bbswany's Avatar
 
Posts: 530
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Colorado
Model: 9000!
OS: 4.6.0.xxx
PIN: 20802456
Carrier: T-Mobile BES
Default 08-30-2008, 04:35 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Earthdog View Post
Ok, I am new to buying an unlocked phone. I have a great price from a OK company that tells me its an unlocked Bold. Should I worry about this or think twice?

BlackBerry Bold 9000

TIA,
Earthdog
Unequivocal scam!! RUN!!!! If it's too good to be true, it probably is. Average selling price is $ 750+.


Start HERE: www.BlackBerryFAQ.com
Housings & Tools: www.cnn.cn
Bold OR Storm on T-Mo? WANT YOUR BROWSER & MMS? CLICK HERE!

   
Reply With Quote
  (#9 (permalink)) Old
rambo47 Offline
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
rambo47's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,499
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Denville, NJ.
Model: Bold
OS: 4.6.0.185
PIN: G!!!
Carrier: AT&T
Default 08-30-2008, 04:45 PM

It it was legit, word would spread like wildfire and they'd be out of stock in an hour. I smell scam.
   
Reply With Quote
  (#10 (permalink)) Old
stl_lacrosse Offline
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
stl_lacrosse's Avatar
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Louis, MO
Model: 9000
PIN: Pins and Needles
Carrier: At&T
Default 08-30-2008, 05:16 PM

I would watch eBay, keyword: watch.

I found a "Buy It Now" posted and bought it within 2 sec for $650 and $25 ship. Sealed in Rogers box.

Keep your eye on eBay or wait until September 36th for the AT&T Release.

If its too good to be true, it is.
   
Reply With Quote
  (#11 (permalink)) Old
Earthdog Offline
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Posts: 35
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 8800
Carrier: Cingular
Default 08-31-2008, 12:16 AM

Thanks everyone I got the message.
   
Reply With Quote
  (#12 (permalink)) Old
WorldIRC Offline
CrackBerry Addict
 
WorldIRC's Avatar
 
Posts: 805
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.190
Carrier: Rogers Wireless
Default 08-31-2008, 11:05 AM

^Glad you understood


Brian Bader
MSN / Email: [email address]
AOL: WorldIRC1986
Rogers / Fido Unlocking - Contact for Info!
   
Reply With Quote
  (#13 (permalink)) Old
Platinum Sponsor
 
Horizon Wireless's Avatar
 
Posts: 542
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CANADA
Model: 9900
OS: 5.01.2.68
PIN: 20813B76
Carrier: ROGERS AND FIDO
Default 08-31-2008, 11:43 AM

Trust me, thats below cost. Its a scam. Dont fall for it


http://www.horizonwirelessonline.com
Wholesale and Retail Blackberry Unlocks - All models & carriers
INSTANT 10% off : HOR10
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On






Copyright © 2004-2008 BlackBerryNews.com, BlackBerryFAQ.com, BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of Research In Motion Limited.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.0.1