BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-29-2010, 10:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Owings Mills Maryland, USA
Model: Storm
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 15
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Deletion message when sync-ing

Please Login to Remove!

When I sync my calendar I sometimes get a message that there are some events about to be deleted from the calendar. When I read it I am never certain if this means that the items will be removed from the Storm's calendar (perhaps to save device memory?). I have no problem with this [although I must add that using my old Palm M515 with Datebook 5 allowed me to keep the entire history on the device].
But I also get the nagging feeling that it will also delete items from the Outlook calendar on my PC which would not be good. So, I just re-sync and go on.
Does that deletion-of-events message mean that items will be removed the Outlook calendar on my PC, or just on the device.
I'd appreciate any response that would be helpful. Thank you and HAPPY NEW YEAR!!
__________________
RJLOMMD
Offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 01:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.0
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 13,745
Post Thanks: 16
Thanked 501 Times in 488 Posts
Default Re: Deletion message when sync-ing

When desktop manager tells you that it is making changes, making additions, or deleting, it tells you on which, device or computer.

As far as what to keep and what to sync, look at calendar options on the handset and the sync setting for calendar in desktop manager. You can keep all calendar entries on the device if you set it that way.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile
Offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 08:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Owings Mills Maryland, USA
Model: Storm
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 15
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Deletion message when sync-ing

Thanks for your reply. I've got the Confirmation of Calendar Edits screen up now and it reads, "The following changes from Calendar Device will be applied to your Microsoft Outlook data in Calendar" which sounds to me like it will remove data from my PC. Am I reading this correctly?? This I do not want.
I'd appreciate your assistance.
__________________
RJLOMMD
Offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 09:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.0
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 13,745
Post Thanks: 16
Thanked 501 Times in 488 Posts
Default Re: Deletion message when sync-ing

That message is telling you that your Outlook calendar database will be modified to reflect changes to the BlackBerry device calendar database since the last sync. Changes are, well, changes, or edits.

If you make a new entry in either database, desktop manager will alert you to additions to one database to reflect the additions that it has found in the other. Same thing wrt deletions. And if there has been a change in the same entry in both databases since the last sync, desktop manager will ask you to resolve the conflict, depending on how you configured your sync setup.

So, you have the possibility of changes, additions, and deletions. Desktop manager will tell you what database was modified and what it will do to sync, or else prompt you to resolve a conflict if you have set it to prompt on conflicts.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile
Offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 09:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.0
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 13,745
Post Thanks: 16
Thanked 501 Times in 488 Posts
Default Re: Deletion message when sync-ing

...... And if you do not want desktop manager to do what it is prompting you to accept, then cancel and re-sync.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads for: Deletion message when sync-ing
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Message Shortcuts doesn´t work properly nickolas16 General 9000 Series Discussion - Bold 12 08-21-2009 10:13 AM
slow sync and strange errors downlaw BES Admin Corner 0 10-14-2008 12:57 AM
BB MDS Studio, wont start, HELP please... ltena Developer Forum 0 07-03-2008 08:23 PM
Remote Database Connection Pool kerseyr BES Admin Corner 10 03-25-2008 06:15 AM
blackberry email intercept and insertion coastuser Rumor Mill 107 09-26-2007 07:04 PM





Copyright © 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.