08-03-2005, 06:26 AM
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Port 3101.org
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
On pre version 4.0 handhelds I'd definately run the deletions through Desktop Manager, much quicker than mucking around with passwords!!! That said, although it will clear data it will not remove the pairing between the device and it's BES or BWC, which you really should do if your sending it back to your SP or RIM. If it's pre 4.0 running the passwords to kill it is the best way as it will restore everything to factory settings.
If you ever need to wipe a version 4.0 device go in to Options > Security > click the trackwheel > Wipe Handheld. Enter 'BlackBerry' and the device will wipe and reboot.
In BES environments I tend to just run the kill comand from the BES to wipe the device......the least number of clicks to perform a task the better I say!!!!
Last edited by BBAdmin : 08-03-2005 at 06:31 AM.