BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2009, 11:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: 8330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 121
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default "Deleted items: Synchronize deleted items between this mailbox & my device." Question

Please Login to Remove!

When I log into the BIS site for Sprint, it gives me the option at the bottom that says

"Deleted items: Synchronize deleted items between this mailbox and my device." at the very bottom

What does this really mean? I am confused because when you delete an email off the blackberry, it gives you 3 options, delete from "mailbox & handheld," "handheld," and "cancel".

So, if I have the "Deleted items: Synchronize deleted items between this mailbox and my device." clicked...does that mean when I just choose delete from "handheld" only, it will STILL delete the email from my actual "mailbox" too?

I don't want it to delete the email from my "mailbox" if I choose to delete from "handheld" only on my blackberry

Does anyone know more about this?

Thanks guys
Offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 05:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
kjjb0204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Model: 9630
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 1,813
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you delete on the BB and have it set to just delete on handheld, it won't delete on mailbox. Not sure what the confusion is.
Offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 06:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: 8330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 121
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kjjb0204 View Post
If you delete on the BB and have it set to just delete on handheld, it won't delete on mailbox. Not sure what the confusion is.
I know that if you just click delete on handheld, it only deletes the email on the bb leaving the email on the server

and if you click both handheld and mailbox it deletes it from the server as well


but my question is in regards to logging into the BIS site for your carrier...if you go to edit..you will see a line where it says "Deleted items: Synchronize deleted items between this mailbox and my device."....and the option to check it off

what does that exactly do?
Offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 06:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
kjjb0204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Model: 9630
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 1,813
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

that will sync the deleted items between that mailbox and the device. so, if you have 10 items that you deleted from handheld, but not mailbox, it will then delete from the mailbox.
Offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 06:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: 8330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 121
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kjjb0204 View Post
that will sync the deleted items between that mailbox and the device. so, if you have 10 items that you deleted from handheld, but not mailbox, it will then delete from the mailbox.
hmm...I've never had that be the case yet though...even with it clicked...I have deleted some items off my handheld only....only for it to still exist on my mailbox server

so..what is this thing really for?
Offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 09:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Model: 8320
PIN: Up
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 188
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default What about "keep messages option?"

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyecon82 View Post
When I log into the BIS site for Sprint, it gives me the option at the bottom that says

"Deleted items: Synchronize deleted items between this mailbox and my device." at the very bottom
If the BB is configured to keep messages for say 30 days, it should automatically delete any email and texts older than 30 days on the BB. Does this option also delete any emails and texts older than 30 days from the server as well when configured as IMAP in BIS? Just had to throw that one out there. I'm sure some of the newbies might ask this at some point.
Offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 10:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: 8330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 121
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

that is also a good question, though I have not seen that happen in my case.

I started my BIS service in 11/08 and have it set to 30 days...all of my old emails are still there
Offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 09:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: sprint
Posts: 138
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I would think that means:
1) if you deleted mailbox from your mailbox (say from a PC), it will delete from your BB as well, and
2) visa versa. This only makes sense, right ? and competing products (such as Chattermail on Palm and Seven on Windows Mobile) I just came from (to BB) do this.

I know item 1) for sure does not seem to be working on my sprint BB 8330. so, WTH ?
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.