11-10-2011, 04:09 PM
Join Date: Nov 2009
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
| | BB 9700 - Security wipe may delete photos?
Please Login to Remove!
I've got two users who both have Blackberry 9700's - exact same model. We recently upgraded all our systems and we have a new BES. Because of this I've had to run a phone wipe and have them reactivate with the new server.
I tested on a user locally who had the same phone, the 9700. I went under security settings and "Security Wipe" where I checked the box to wipe out email and contacts, etc. I did NOT check the box for apps OR for media and I wiped it.
I reactivated it with the new servers, all things were fine, I checked his photos and there they ALL were. Great. The other user is remote so I got him on the phone and talked him through the EXACT same process, stressing to him that ONLY the first box about email/contacts/etc should be checked, and NOT the other two.
He confirmed that it was the only one and wiped the phone. When it rebooted - he lost all his photos. How does this work fine on one BB9700 and completely wipe out pics on another? I don't get it. He's quite upset - he lost a bunch of recent vacation pics, etc.