BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-21-2006, 02:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Model: 6230
Posts: 8
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question no longer asked to confirm changes - how to turn back on?

Please Login to Remove!

Hi all,

I've searched the forums and manual but can't find the answer to this.

Used to be when I sync'd the Blackberry to the PC via the USB cable, I was prompted to approved how many deletions/additions/changes were made to my calendar, mailbox, address book and so on. I don't get asked that any more, but I want to. I have a feeling the syncing isn't working as well as it used to; I am never sure if I'm getting all my appointments now or not. How do I get that prompt back?

For reference, I have a 6230 running Blackberry OS 4.0.0.185 using Desktop Redirector for my Outlook profile from my WinXP machine at work. As far as I know, my wireless service hasn't changed, so this has to be something that I did to the unit or desktop config.

Thanks for your help!
Offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 03:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired BlackBerryForums.com Moderator
 
d_fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Columbus, OH
Model: 9700
OS: SID 6.7
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 4,455
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

You need to change the options within the BlackBerry Desktop Manager. Open Intellisync and configure PIM. Change the settings to prompt for each PIM category you want to modify.
__________________
Doug

Remember, please try searching first!

Need a screenshot? ... Like JavaLoader?
Try using BBscreen .....Use JL_Cmder!
or BBScreenShooter!

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 03:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Model: 6230
Posts: 8
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default fixed, but not the way you said...

I checked all the settings, and I don't see anywhere else I could possibly set it to prompt me. Details are below for the curious.**

Writing all that up, I finally got frustrated and just reset the configuration, and that seemed to fix it - I got prompted on the next sync. So, um, problem solved, rather anticlimactically.



**As you suggested, I open the Desktop Manager, go to Intellisync and go to Configure PIM. For each application (address book, calendar, memo pad, tasks):

- if I go to Choose Application, I have them all set to Synchronize (instead of Import or Export)
- if I go to Configure > Advanced Settings > Conformation I have the boxes checked for both "Confirm record Deletions" and "Confirm record Changes and Additions"
- if I go to Configure > Advanced Settings > Conflict Resolution I have selected "Notify me when conflicts occur"

Maybe you can see why I was confused. If there's something in all that I shouldn't mess with or the prompts will disappear again, please let me know.

Thanks for the help, Melissa
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.