When I reset my device the other day, it deleted everything on the card. From the Help material, it appears that there are rules that one needs to live by (opening the connection to the card, closing the connection to the card, etc) to avoid inadvertent deletion. For example, removing the battery cover can alter things if your settings aren't correct. I don't claim to understand this, and thus was hoping for some clarity from others. Thanks.