BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2007, 05:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Model: 9630
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 84
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default wiping 7100t

Please Login to Remove!

I upgraded to my Curve, and want to wipe my 7100t before I sell/give it away to make sure all my personal data is off it (calendar, contacts, notes, etc.). Is there an easy way to do this? I tried a basic search but nothing popped up.
__________________
TimW
Phoenix
Offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 06:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry B Boy
 
jeremyckitching's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.415
PIN: 215BE1F8
Carrier: T-Mobile U.S.A.
Posts: 4,243
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Do you have the following: Options > Security Options > General Settings > Click Trackwheel > Wipe Handheld?
Offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 06:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Model: 9630
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 84
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I knew it was there somewhere...I went into the security settings area, and forgot the wheel click. So soon I forget after my Curve...it's like I never used a trackwheel before. DOH!

Now, I just need to determine if my wife wants my old 7100 before wiping it.

One thing...It said that messages services will be disabled....what exactly does that mean? Data loss I can deal with, since I backed it up before I bought the Curve.

Thanks much for your help!!
__________________
TimW
Phoenix
Offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 06:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry B Boy
 
jeremyckitching's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.415
PIN: 215BE1F8
Carrier: T-Mobile U.S.A.
Posts: 4,243
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It just means that they will be disabled until the unit is re-activated (for instance, if you registered it back on the network and resent the service books). Wiping the device removes everything, and resets it to its default state. If your wife decides to use it and puts in a valid SIM card it will work.
Offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 02:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Model: 9630
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 84
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Will wiping it remove the OS update I installed, since the default was a 3.8 or something?
__________________
TimW
Phoenix
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.