BlackBerry Forums Support Community

BlackBerry Forums Support Community (http://www.blackberryforums.com/)
-   GPS & Mapping (http://www.blackberryforums.com/gps-mapping/)
-   -   Wisepilot experience: (http://www.blackberryforums.com/gps-mapping/260208-wisepilot-experience.html)

nobody7290 06-25-2012 06:36 AM

Wisepilot experience:
 
If tried the application, and, it works most of the time reliable.
The following of the map is smooth, and, if you have the license you have your maps offline availible on the SD card. You will be noticed of speed traps, even if you have not started navigation to destination point - This I like very much.

much better then telmap (less sluggish user interface), and offline maps.

However, when it comes to licensing it is as worse as most others:
You can buy a license for "lifetime". If you add all features, a "lifetime" license will be about 70 to 80 Euros.
However, the license, even if it is sold to you, it is a license which is tied to the handheld and Appello refuses to transfer it to a different device.

This is for me an absolute no-go. For as low as 100E you can get a stand-alone navigation device - with also a "lifetime" license.

If my phone breaks, gets lost, stolen, or I simply buy a new one, I would expect that I am able to use a software licensed to me on the new device. Ok, if there is a transfer charge. But I dont accept I have to buy a new license.

So, a very nice program, but, think twice about when you buy, how long you expect to use your Blackberry.

Baqsder 08-04-2012 12:01 PM

Re: Wisepilot experience:
 
I speak from experience. I only had my "lifetime" license for 1month before my phone broke.

I now have a new phone but cannot transfer the license and wisepilot refuse to help me. If I had bought from a shop you would go in and get your money back but because it is online for some reason companies feel it is ok to rip you off.

I have since found an app called Telmap it is free and as good as this app.

I may not be able to get my money back but if i can warn a few people from making the same mistake then that is the next best thing.

Regards

nobody7290 08-04-2012 04:45 PM

Re: Wisepilot experience:
 
Sorry to hear this, and, even If I think this kind of business model wisepilot uses has no future and is indeed a ripoff, it is not neccessary to make a double post in this forum.

btw.: appello is not even able to correctly account VAT in the EU. If you buy the software as a company in the EU, the regulation is they have to sell this to you without VAT if you have a EU VAT number, and your business is not in Sweden.

So, If you use this app for business, you have to buy this including 25% swedish VAT, which you cannot get back from the local tax office. Another argument you should think of if you plan to use this Application.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.