BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2008, 10:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 9530
OS: 4.7.0.XXX
PIN: G Pong Champ
Carrier: T-Mobile U.S.
Posts: 5,515
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default G1 Accepting Everything You Type as a command.

Please Login to Remove!

Ya, I won't lie I have shown a little love to a G1, T-Mobile loaned me one and I had a lot of fun with it.

I ran across this article at Engadget and for you geeks out there you will either laugh or cry.

Epic Android bug inteprets your typing as system commands
by Chris Ziegler, posted Nov 8th 2008 at 8:42PM

The philosophy goes something like this: the great thing about Linux is that it's secure, and the great thing about open-source software is that it's thoroughly and constantly vetted for robustness. So to that end, Android should be pretty rock solid, right?

Perhaps, but the overwhelming enormity of this particular bug definitely gives us pause. It turns out that G1 firmware revisions RC29 and earlier literally interpret everything you type as command-line operations, so if you happen across a legit command, it's going to get executed -- with superuser permissions, no less. No, seriously.

Just go to the messaging app, the browser, or anywhere else a text box is convenient, type "reboot," press the enter key, and watch magic happen. We've tested this on two G1s, both with RC29 firmware, and have gotten this to consistently work on one of the two, so your mileage may vary -- but either way, this needed to get patched on the double. Fortunately, Google's been quick about it, rolling a fix into the RC30 build that's being rapidly pushed to users as we speak, but man... how did that get through?

[Via Engadget]
Epic Android bug inteprets your typing as system commands - Engadget Mobile
Offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 02:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
BBF Moderator
 
rachamphetamine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: --
PIN: E SOL
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 3,117
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I read that on EM yesterday and it made me laugh. I do wonder how that bug made it through... but it is entertaining. I wish I had one near me just to test out the 'reboot' command.
Offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 03:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 9530
OS: 4.7.0.XXX
PIN: G Pong Champ
Carrier: T-Mobile U.S.
Posts: 5,515
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rachamphetamine View Post
I read that on EM yesterday and it made me laugh. I do wonder how that bug made it through... but it is entertaining. I wish I had one near me just to test out the 'reboot' command.
Being a true nerd I thought about how many times I would type a potential command and was shocked. Just in my posts here I use reboot often.
Offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 03:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
BBF Moderator
 
rachamphetamine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: --
PIN: E SOL
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 3,117
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Same here - though I don't know that many commands other than, well, reboot. I imagine that I would find them out pretty fast when I typed them in, though...
Offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 04:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Model: 8310
OS: 4.5.0.108
PIN: 2484D2EB
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 121
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hey someone with a G1 text this to someone: rm -rf /


watch the madness ensue
__________________
AT&T Sales Representative
Offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 04:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 9530
OS: 4.7.0.XXX
PIN: G Pong Champ
Carrier: T-Mobile U.S.
Posts: 5,515
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gfrancis306 View Post
hey someone with a G1 text this to someone: rm -rf /


watch the madness ensue
It is the G1's remote wipe feature.
Offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 04:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Model: 8310
OS: 4.5.0.108
PIN: 2484D2EB
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 121
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TroyDBrown View Post
It is the G1's remote wipe feature.
it is *nix's wipe feature. hehe
__________________
AT&T Sales Representative
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.