BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-19-2010, 04:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
BlackBerry Master
 
Trimix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: smelLA, caLAMEfornia
Model: 8320
OS: 4.5.0.182
PIN: infarina
Carrier: of alotta bacteria
Posts: 4,932
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Android phones + data plan questions

Please Login to Remove!

Will a generic data plan work on an Android phone, or does it need to be an Android specific data plan?

(Kind of like how a generic data plan will work on a BlackBerry but you lose some functionality).
Offline  
Old 05-19-2010, 04:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App5
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,032
Post Thanks: 54
Thanked 782 Times in 742 Posts
Default

Since this is a BB forum, you might not get a good answer. That being said, I think the Android phones use the Smartphone plans.

Might want to call your carrier to find out for sure. Also might check HowardForums.com
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 05-19-2010, 04:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
BlackBerry Master
 
Trimix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: smelLA, caLAMEfornia
Model: 8320
OS: 4.5.0.182
PIN: infarina
Carrier: of alotta bacteria
Posts: 4,932
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Thanks Dubdub. Will look into other forums. But thought perhaps previous BB users who've migrated over to Android might know.
Offline  
Old 05-19-2010, 09:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
iPhone Mod!
 
zerog46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: In a House
Model: 9650
Carrier: VZW Bold
Posts: 6,752
Post Thanks: 17
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (Tour)

Same plan as a bb.
__________________
Life is not holding a good hand. Life is playing a poor hand well.
Offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 06:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
BlackBerry Master
 
dankarlinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 1
Carrier: 1
Posts: 3,391
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (White and Nerdy)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zerog46
Wirelessly posted (Tour)

Same plan as a bb.
Yup. There is a "android data plan", but if you just pop the sim in, it works.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.