BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2007, 04:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 317
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Will iPhone Force Carriers To Change Data Plans?

Please Login to Remove!

The one area I'm hoping the iPhone forces change is with expensive dataplans. I'm a Verizon customer and spending an additional $45 a month on top of a 900 minute plan will never stop stinging, no matter how great the service. Now, I use my phone for business and personal, so I can justify the cost. I would think a lot of regular consumers who were thinking of getting a smartphone but stayed away due to the high cost of most data plans will try out an iPhone. If that's the case, I have to believe other carriers/phones are going to try and follow suit. Or at least I hope so.

I love my BlackBerry and would never want to switch, but I'm not gonna lie - if VZW offered a smartphone with data included with voice minutes, I don't know that PUSH is worth $45 extra a month.
Offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 04:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App5
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,035
Post Thanks: 54
Thanked 782 Times in 742 Posts
Default

I doubt if the iPhone will make much impact on anything, especially dataplan pricing. If it really goes, then the iPhone users may end up paying a premium.
Offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 04:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
No longer Registered.
 
Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Atlanta
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.138
PIN: 31a6c9c9
Carrier: Verizon BIS
Posts: 13,962
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubdub View Post
I doubt if the iPhone will make much impact on anything, especially dataplan pricing. If it really goes, then the iPhone users may end up paying a premium.

mods please move to correct section.
Offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 05:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: 9xx0
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,907
Post Thanks: 60
Thanked 244 Times in 182 Posts
Default

I think I just moved it, lol, I think. Who knows, learning.

This section should be renamed the iPhone quaduplicate question Forum
Offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 05:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
No longer Registered.
 
Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Atlanta
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.138
PIN: 31a6c9c9
Carrier: Verizon BIS
Posts: 13,962
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSanders View Post
I think I just moved it, lol, I think. Who knows, learning.

This section should be renamed the iPhone quaduplicate question Forum
you did well j
Offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 06:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
No longer Registered.
 
Galvatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mesa Arizona
Model: 8800
PIN: 240582A8
Carrier: tmobile
Posts: 647
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

mod tools and admin tools aint that hard to learn> speaking for experience
Offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 07:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX.
Model: Pearl
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 86
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i think it will be a difference in pricing for data plan since i think its using faster data plan newer than edge. sorrry cant remember the name.
Offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 07:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
No longer Registered.
 
Galvatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mesa Arizona
Model: 8800
PIN: 240582A8
Carrier: tmobile
Posts: 647
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.0) BlackBerry8700/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

Vorizen an sprint us EV-d0 well no it uses revisionA sprimt is worimg on equiping there entire network with WI-max which blows every thing out of the watter at a staggering 100mbps.it a 4g format. Were as hsdpa wich is common plac in erope ant the uk uses HSDPA wich trans fers at 1.8mbps. We so need that over here TMO uss needs to match it eropean brother acorss the pond with the same name btw HSDPA is 3.5g
Offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 08:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
BlackBerry Master
 
test54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Model: AAPL
OS: iPhone
Carrier: is Better than BB :)
Posts: 3,633
Post Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

TMO aparently will be the last to get 3G over here and i dont know why more people dont get upset about that. I mean I'm wanting HSDPA asap for me on AT&T but it seems it will be another year. WI-max will be great if SPrint gets that done, their plan is set to get 100 million by end of next year.
__________________
"A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila." - unknown
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.