BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2008, 10:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Password removal

Please Login to Remove!

Two questions
1 Can you apply a password to only notes or contacts rather than the entire device?
2 How do you remove the device password?

I have spent hours trying to find out how to remove my device password. The forum only appears to give information for users with an IT Policy on their phone. It is driving me mad - can't even turn the phone off without entering it. I am new to BB and recently bought a new 8310 Curve direct from Vodafone. In settings/general/password, there is a little red symbol next to 'Enabled'. I can't tell what it is, but I suspect this is the problem. Options do not include 'disable', but only change, wipe handheld, close etc.
Offline  
Old 06-04-2008, 10:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,667
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 84 Times in 65 Posts
Default

1. No....Only the entire device.


The little symbol is a lock. Is the device a refurbished unit? The lock means that there is likely an IT policy on the device that prohibits you from disabling the password.
Offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 12:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
BBFAQ Sysop
 
ricpac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Philippines
Model: 9700
OS: X 10.6
PIN: Alt+Shift+H
Carrier: GLOBE
Posts: 3,760
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Since JC got you covered, allow me to just say this then -- Welcome to BBF - Your #1 BlackBerry Community!
__________________
All your base are belong to us.
Offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 03:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks

Surprisingly, just wiping the hand held fixed the problem. According to some of your threads, it shouldn't have. Problem fixed. It is a new unit bought direct from Vodafone who assured me that it did not have any IT Policy activated.

Do you know if there are 3rd party programs that allow for greater security options like password protecting notes etc? Also, can you download other themes that allow for increased configureability of the main screen?
Offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 02:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
icebox0721's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8700g
PIN: 23EE3E11
Carrier: tmobile
Posts: 10
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

"Clearing" IT Policy





DISCLAIMER: The attached Policy.bin (in the Zip file) sets the Firewall to Enabled and locked!. I have searched - no scoured the Internet for an IT Policy that unlocks the Firewall, but have not been able to find it. Additionally, I have been told there is no such thing.

I have been using a BlackBerry with the Firewall enabled with no problem.

If you have an IT Policy that unlocks this setting, please PM it to me! I'd prefer the INF file, but would be happy to get the BIN file.

BlackBerry IT Policy is an advanced security feature allowing management of virtually every setting on a BlackBerry connected to a BlackBerry Enterprise Server. Typically, this crops up when a BlackBerry is aquired second hand or someone leaves the company that managed the BES and a clean Policy was not applied before breaking the connection with the BES.

Applying a "blank" IT Policy is not too difficult, there are just a lot of things that need to be set up before it can happen. The actual replacing of the policy literally takes seconds! There used to be an excelent How To on the Internet, but it's gone.

Before proceeding, understand that IT Policy can NOT be overridden! That is, if you are on a BES and attempt to clear your company's IT Policy as outlined here, your company's IT Policy will be reapplied as soon as you begin the Enterprise Activation process required to connect to your company's BES - so don't even bother!

Here is EVERYTHING you need to have and what to do:
You must have:
  1. Desktop Manager 4.1 or higher installed in Internet mode - Enterprise mode will not work.

    As this implies, you must also have your BlackBerry and a USB cable to connect your BlackBerry to Desktop Manager.

    I do not know if a BlueTooth connection will work, and would not recommend it anyway!

    (Scripting note: If DM is set up in Internet mode, the registry entry "RedirectorConfiguration" under "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Manager\Extensions" will NOT exist)
    .
  2. Have wiped your BlackBerry before starting.
    1. Go to Options --> Security Options --> General Settings, Click the Menu button or Scroll wheel and select Wipe handheld.
    2. You can also set a password and enter it incorrectly 10 times.
    3. If you need to retain data, do a Selective backup (use the Advanced button) and only backup data
    .
  3. A blank policy.bin file (in the attached Zip file) saved to %ProgramFiles%\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\policy.bin where %ProgramFiles% a system environment variable and typically (although not always) set to C:\Program Files. A blank poicy.bin is in the attached policy.zip.
    .
  4. A registry entry needs to be made. The easiest way is to simpy go to Start and select Run and enter the following command (Win2K and higher): Code:
    reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Policy Manager" /v Path /t REG_SZ /d "c:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\policy.bin"
    NOTE: If your environment variable %ProgramFiles% is not C:\Program Files, replace C:\Program Files with the appropriate value. In some European distributions of Windows %ProgramFiles% is C:\Programs. To find the value of your environment variable, open a command prompt window and type set program and hit [Enter]. You whould get the response ProgramFiles=C:\Program Files. Use whatever it says to the RIGHT of the equal sign.
To summarize:
  • Desktop Manager 4.1 or higher installed with Internet settings, and able to connect to the BlackBerry to be cleared.
  • Wipe the BlackBerry to be cleared
  • Extract policy.bin in the attached policy.zip to C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\policy.bin
  • The following registry entry:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Policy Manager
    "Path"="C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\policy.bin"
Now, start Desktop Manager, and once it's up and running plug in your BlackBerry. When Desktop Manager connects, it will briefly say it's working, and then stop. Give it a good 10-15 seconds just to be sure. Your BlackBerry should now have the default factory IT Policy applied without any restrictions.
Attached Files
File Type: zip policy.zip (14.5 KB, 187 views)
Offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 02:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
penguin3107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: iOS 5
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 11,701
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 237 Times in 219 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by icebox0721 View Post
"Clearing" IT Policy





DISCLAIMER: The attached Policy.bin (in the Zip file) sets the Firewall to Enabled and locked!. I have searched - no scoured the Internet for an IT Policy that unlocks the Firewall, but have not been able to find it. Additionally, I have been told there is no such thing.

I have been using a BlackBerry with the Firewall enabled with no problem.

If you have an IT Policy that unlocks this setting, please PM it to me! I'd prefer the INF file, but would be happy to get the BIN file.

BlackBerry IT Policy is an advanced security feature allowing management of virtually every setting on a BlackBerry connected to a BlackBerry Enterprise Server. Typically, this crops up when a BlackBerry is aquired second hand or someone leaves the company that managed the BES and a clean Policy was not applied before breaking the connection with the BES.

Applying a "blank" IT Policy is not too difficult, there are just a lot of things that need to be set up before it can happen. The actual replacing of the policy literally takes seconds! There used to be an excelent How To on the Internet, but it's gone.

Before proceeding, understand that IT Policy can NOT be overridden! That is, if you are on a BES and attempt to clear your company's IT Policy as outlined here, your company's IT Policy will be reapplied as soon as you begin the Enterprise Activation process required to connect to your company's BES - so don't even bother!

Here is EVERYTHING you need to have and what to do:
You must have:
  1. Desktop Manager 4.1 or higher installed in Internet mode - Enterprise mode will not work.

    As this implies, you must also have your BlackBerry and a USB cable to connect your BlackBerry to Desktop Manager.

    I do not know if a BlueTooth connection will work, and would not recommend it anyway!

    (Scripting note: If DM is set up in Internet mode, the registry entry "RedirectorConfiguration" under "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Manager\Extensions" will NOT exist)
    .
  2. Have wiped your BlackBerry before starting.
    1. Go to Options --> Security Options --> General Settings, Click the Menu button or Scroll wheel and select Wipe handheld.
    2. You can also set a password and enter it incorrectly 10 times.
    3. If you need to retain data, do a Selective backup (use the Advanced button) and only backup data
    .
  3. A blank policy.bin file (in the attached Zip file) saved to %ProgramFiles%\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\policy.bin where %ProgramFiles% a system environment variable and typically (although not always) set to C:\Program Files. A blank poicy.bin is in the attached policy.zip.
    .
  4. A registry entry needs to be made. The easiest way is to simpy go to Start and select Run and enter the following command (Win2K and higher): Code:
    reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Policy Manager" /v Path /t REG_SZ /d "c:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\policy.bin"
    NOTE: If your environment variable %ProgramFiles% is not C:\Program Files, replace C:\Program Files with the appropriate value. In some European distributions of Windows %ProgramFiles% is C:\Programs. To find the value of your environment variable, open a command prompt window and type set program and hit [Enter]. You whould get the response ProgramFiles=C:\Program Files. Use whatever it says to the RIGHT of the equal sign.
To summarize:
  • Desktop Manager 4.1 or higher installed with Internet settings, and able to connect to the BlackBerry to be cleared.
  • Wipe the BlackBerry to be cleared
  • Extract policy.bin in the attached policy.zip to C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\policy.bin
  • The following registry entry:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Policy Manager
    "Path"="C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\policy.bin"
Now, start Desktop Manager, and once it's up and running plug in your BlackBerry. When Desktop Manager connects, it will briefly say it's working, and then stop. Give it a good 10-15 seconds just to be sure. Your BlackBerry should now have the default factory IT Policy applied without any restrictions.
Talk about re-inventing the wheel.
__________________
BCSA
BES 5.0.3 MR4 :-: Exchange 2007 SP3 RU3
http://port3101.org
Offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 03:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,667
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 84 Times in 65 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (BB 11020)

I hope someone isn't going to be upset that you copied and pasted their work with no credit given. Unless, maybe you wrote that. We have all that here in a FAQ and a sticky thread with proper credit given to the authors.
Offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 06:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
BBFAQ Sysop
 
ricpac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Philippines
Model: 9700
OS: X 10.6
PIN: Alt+Shift+H
Carrier: GLOBE
Posts: 3,760
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Whoaaa!
__________________
All your base are belong to us.
Offline  
Old 06-08-2008, 10:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
fantom1023's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cordova TN
Model: 8310
OS: 4.5.0.55
PIN: K PANTIES
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 33
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello and welcome to the forums!!
__________________
The Fantom
TOOL
Adlen 4.5 Forums
OS 4.5.0.55; DM 4.5
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.