BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-19-2008, 12:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
mjs
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: alltel
Posts: 6
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default New member with yahoo messenger login problems

Please Login to Remove!

Hi all. I have had my 8130 pearl for about 7 months now with nothing but problem after problem. The most recent and frustrating problem I am having is with Yahoo messenger. I have yahoo messenger version 2.0.46 on my phone and just a couple days ago it tells me "invalid ID or password". Strange thing is, I went to sleep at night, did not touch my phone, woke up and tried logging in and that's what it said. Both my ID and password are correct, I can login on my laptop and on the web based program as well. Yahoo says to uninstall the app and the service books and reinstall. I've tried everything minus throwing it against the wall! Any suggestions?
Offline  
Old 06-22-2008, 10:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
BBFAQ Sysop
 
ricpac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Philippines
Model: 9700
OS: X 10.6
PIN: Alt+Shift+H
Carrier: GLOBE
Posts: 3,760
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Start with a battery pull first and see if it helps...
Offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 02:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: Z10
OS: 10.2.1
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 13,715
Post Thanks: 15
Thanked 499 Times in 486 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (8700g)

I've had failure to connect or timeout once in a while. I can't remember an invalid id/password error. The battery pull is what I would have tried first. If that didn't work, deleting the app and reinstalling is what I would have tried next.

If you haven't done it this way yet, my suggestion is to delete yahoo messenger, then, with the blackberry powered on, remove the battery. Wait 30 or more seconds and replace the the battery, then install Yahoo Messenger again and see if problem is fixed or not.
__________________
- Ira
Offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 06:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
styxgroupi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: SC
Model: 8330
OS: v4.3.0.12
PIN: acle of love
Carrier: Alltel
Posts: 1,319
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted

All of the above, I agree. plz don't throw it....
__________________
Babblin Babs
Sideshow Karaoke & Mobile D/J Services
"Karaoke Singers Do It With Their Mouth"

Last edited by styxgroupi : 06-24-2008 at 06:24 PM.
Offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 12:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
mjs
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: alltel
Posts: 6
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the responses all...update...I've now officially tried everything, spent countless hours on the phone with yahoo, blackberry and my carrier. The one thing that I notice everytime I un/reinstall the ap is my info is stored in messenger as if I never uninstalled it. I have deleted the modules, books and the ap, performed a hard reset with phone off and on and still the same deal. stxgroupi... i would love to tell you that I don't want to throw my bb, but this problem is absolutely absurd...
Offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 12:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
mjs
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: alltel
Posts: 6
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

o yea, the bb was wiped as well
Offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 06:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: Z10
OS: 10.2.1
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 13,715
Post Thanks: 15
Thanked 499 Times in 486 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (8700g)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjs
o yea, the bb was wiped as well
Was about to ask, so that confirms my suspicions (at least in my mind). I think it is something not having anything to do with your blackberry or the messenger installation. Maybe something peculiar with your account at Yahoo or some bug in the 'system' peculiar to you and maybe some others. Maybe there's nothing to do but wait it out.

Can you log in to Yahoo's wap page http://us.m.yahoo.com/?tsrc=yahoo? If you are using Yahoo Go, any trouble loging in via that?

For what it's worth, I now remember getting the invalid id/password error in the past sometimes when I would log in to the Yahoo wap page. I don't remember doing anything to fix it and probably just waited for it to get fixed on its own.

Wish I had a concrete solution for you. Hopefully someone who does will wander along soon.
__________________
- Ira
Offline  
Old 06-26-2008, 01:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
mjs
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: alltel
Posts: 6
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I can log into Go with no problems...i can login to anything from yahoo from any different platform (be it web based, application on laptop, etc. etc.) I can login to messenger from my browser on my bb as well. It's now goin on two weeks with no resolution...I appreciate your help though...o yea, yahoo tech support is just about the worst support I think I've ever experienced. I can come up with better solutions to putting a man on the sun versus their capability of solving 1+1. Hmmm....wonder why I'm not a billionaire yet? lol
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.