BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-02-2011, 06:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Globacom
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default i need to use my blackberry with my laptop

Please Login to Remove!

Some of my friends could surf the internet via their laptop with their blackberry being the modem. How can I do that?
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile
Offline  
Old 10-02-2011, 06:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,920
Post Thanks: 61
Thanked 255 Times in 184 Posts
Default Re: i need to use my blackberry with my laptop

Welcome.

Article ID: KB05196 Connect a computer to the Internet using a BlackBerry smartphone as a USB tethered modem
Offline  
Old 10-15-2011, 01:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
BlackBerry Mensa
 
tsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Others run out when we run in
Model: Z10
OS: Cheerios
PIN: No Pin just a Tack
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 9,407
Post Thanks: 75
Thanked 785 Times in 755 Posts
Default Re: i need to use my blackberry with my laptop

Welcome to the Forums!
__________________
If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button


9810 on BES
Z10 on BIS
Offline  
Old 10-16-2011, 08:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Model: 9000
Carrier: Cellc
Posts: 6
Post Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: i need to use my blackberry with my laptop

Hi there. So if you do that then does it use the bis or bes or should you have airtime?
Offline  
Old 10-16-2011, 09:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Latino Hasta La Muerte
 
rambo47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Denville, NJ.
Model: 9370
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 9,062
Post Thanks: 52
Thanked 311 Times in 296 Posts
Default Re: i need to use my blackberry with my laptop

Tethering uses the BlackBerry's BIS/BES data connection. Airtime should be a separate issue.
Offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to rambo47 For This Useful Post:
Nathanielwagz (10-16-2011)
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads for: i need to use my blackberry with my laptop
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Perform a cutover to another BlackBerry Enterprise Server in IBM Lotus Domino hdawg BES Admin Corner 3 04-25-2008 09:47 AM
New Blackberry Server wants to reactivate users after power outage! Urlryn BES Admin Corner 19 12-27-2007 03:55 PM
BES Domino 4.0 SP2 rsun BES Admin Corner 12 08-25-2005 01:27 PM
BES 4.0 SP1 for Exchange now available! jibi BES Admin Corner 20 05-04-2005 10:00 PM
[2005-04-04] RIM to Preview Next Generation BlackBerry MDS at WES bfrye BlackBerry In the News 3 04-13-2005 08:02 AM

New HP Proliant DL380 Gen4/ML370 Server Intel Xeon Processor 311584-B21
$30.39
New HP Proliant DL380 Gen4/ML370 Server Intel Xeon Processor 311584-B21 pictureNoctua CPU Cooler For Intel Xeon CPU LGA2011, 1356 And 1366 Platforms NH-U9DXi4
$79.79
Noctua CPU Cooler For Intel Xeon CPU LGA2011, 1356 And 1366 Platforms NH-U9DXi4 pictureNew Dell M610 PowerEdge Blade Server Redhat Version 5 2x 73GB HDD Linux 5
$950.0
New Dell M610 PowerEdge Blade Server Redhat Version 5 2x 73GB HDD Linux 5 pictureNEW IBM System X3850 M2 4x Intel Xeon 2.6 GHz 2x 146GB 32GB RAM HDD
$8750.0
NEW IBM System X3850 M2 4x Intel Xeon 2.6 GHz 2x 146GB 32GB RAM HDD pictureNew Dell M610 PowerEdge Blade Server Redhat Version 5 2x 73GB HDD Linux 5 Unit#2
$950.0
New Dell M610 PowerEdge Blade Server Redhat Version 5 2x 73GB HDD Linux 5 Unit#2 picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.