BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2006, 02:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Model: 7280
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 105
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default New Here

Please Login to Remove!

My boss just gave me his old phone (He was scared they were going belly up) and its a 7280 I believe. Where in these forums is a good place to find out information reguarding the 7200 series? I see the 8700 forum and the 7100 forum..I didnt know if I was missing it.

Also I was hoping to get your guys' honest opinion about the 7280 i.e. Is it any good? Known issues? Availible updates or fixes.

Another thing..whats BES and BIS? lol

Im such a needy bastard I know, but one more thing and ill leave this post alone, could you point me in the direction of some good website to get free software and tools.

Thanks for all your help..ciao
Offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 02:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Toronto
Model: 8700R
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 206
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

just do a search on this forum for 7280 and I'm sure you'll get links. 7290 as well. The only big difference between the 2 is bluetooth (you don't have that).

7280 is a workhorse. It's what I used to have. Be warned though, they can be lemons. Once the door has been opened with a javascript bug get ready to replace the hardware.

Check your service provider to get the newest software for the handheld, should be on their website.
__________________
Ghetto stats: bberry 8130 :: desktop manager 4.2.1.8 :: handheld 4.2.2.163 :: Lotus Notes 7.02 :: BES 4.1?
Offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 02:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
rcbjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: North Texas
Model: 8700
Posts: 1,366
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It the top of the page where yo posted this is a sticky FAQ thread. It has links to a series of FAQs on different topics. Read through those and see if most of your questions aren't answered.

Hope this helps.
Rcbjr
Offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 02:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Model: 7280
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 105
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Alright Ill check it out...so am I to understand that if i see something that can be used on a 7290, it probably works with a 7280 as well?

Is that 4.1 OS worth it..right now I go to the about screen and says im running....
4.0.0.185 (Platform 1.6.1.48)
Cryptographic Kernal v3.8.0.24

Im downloading from RIM right now 4.0.2.56

Lemme know what your guys' advise would be

Thank you
Offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 02:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Model: 7280
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 105
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok ... I downloaded the software, and its a regular setup file. I double clicked it..and it told me to shut down my BB desktop manager..so I did After restaring the install..it went completely through, did its thing, said finished...lol NOW WHAT!!

My phone was plugged in the whole time..what do I do now im lost lol

I need help waaaahhh
Offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 02:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired BlackBerryForums.com Moderator
 
d_fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Columbus, OH
Model: 9700
OS: SID 6.7
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 4,455
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Launch Desktop Manger. If nothing happens, then Application Loader.
__________________
Doug

Remember, please try searching first!

Need a screenshot? ... Like JavaLoader?
Try using BBscreen .....Use JL_Cmder!
or BBScreenShooter!

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 02:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: iPh6
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 27,822
Post Thanks: 33
Thanked 442 Times in 382 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by earth
just do a search on this forum for 7280 and I'm sure you'll get links. 7290 as well. The only big difference between the 2 is bluetooth (you don't have that).
That is incorrect information. In addition to Bluetooth, there are many significant difference between the 7280 and 7290. Here are a few:

7280 has 16 MB RAM; 7290 has 32MB. Big difference with 4.0/4.1
7280 is tri band GSM/GPRS (850/1800/1900) - great for the US. The 7290 is quad band (850/900/1800/1900) - great for the world.
7290 has much better back lighting - much better.

If you want to see all of the difference, go to the RIM web site, go into the products section and do a comparison of the two. There is no comparison.
Offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 02:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Model: 7280
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 105
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I did...and when it did that it went to my about screen, but it didnt say I was running a diff version. Maybe the one im running is the most up to date?

Or should I download the 4.1?
Offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 03:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: iPh6
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 27,822
Post Thanks: 33
Thanked 442 Times in 382 Posts
Default

I don't believe there is a 4.1 for the 7280. Only 16MB RAM...
Offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 04:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Model: 7280
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 105
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well thats fine... I wont upgrade..but if you read the whole forum..I posted what V. im running now..and im tryin to upgrade..I double click the install icon and it does its thing..finishes and my blackberry doesent update...Is there anymore steps I should be taking?
Offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 05:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Model: 7280
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 105
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok .. I read a bunch of FAQ's.. and I can now tell you at what point it doesent work...I went to the common files..rim...shared.. and i see a folder with the os...I open it and I see all the alx files...so i know its there...but when I plug in my device...it does not prompt me to upgrade my device...It just sits there..any workarounds?
Offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 06:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: iPh6
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 27,822
Post Thanks: 33
Thanked 442 Times in 382 Posts
Default

Locate and delete VENDOR.XML from your PC's C: drive and restart Desktop Manager. If nothing loads there then you do not have new firmware.
Offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 07:02 PM   #13 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Model: 7280
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 105
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

YAAAAAY its updateing now!!

TY so much NJBlackberry..I take back all the bad things Ive said about peoples from NJ
Offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 07:03 PM   #14 (permalink)
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: iPh6
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 27,822
Post Thanks: 33
Thanked 442 Times in 382 Posts
Default

Like we care
We still control all the casinos out there, it youse know what I mean. Bada bing.
Offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 07:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Model: 7280
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 105
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I was really only referring to South Jersey girls. Nucking Futs!!!
Offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 07:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: iPh6
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 27,822
Post Thanks: 33
Thanked 442 Times in 382 Posts
Default

Much better. You don't want to end up with the russian guy in the Pine Barrens now...
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.