BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-09-2006, 08:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Model: 7100v
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hello from the UK

Please Login to Remove!

Hello folks,

Just a quick note to say "Hello". I'm new blackberry 7100v from the UK. Had several smartphones before this (Nokia series 60, sony UIQ, Windows Mobile etc), but none of them come near the BB as far as email usability goes. I was amazed that the device just worked, as soon as it was switched on.

I've had a good read through the forums, and am most impressed with it all.

Cheers,
Andy
Offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 09:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: 9520
Carrier: Tmobile
Posts: 155
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Twonk

I'm in the UK too - doesn't seem to be that many of us...
__________________
Asianmaze

"There is something about jumping a horse over a fence, something that makes you feel good." William Faulkner
Offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 09:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
wibbly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Model: 9700
Carrier: T-Mobile UK
Posts: 857
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh my. Is this to become the UK thread? Me to. With an 8700g from T-Mobile.
Offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 10:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Model: 7100v
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hurray for the UK thread!

I must admit, that I know of very few people over here that have BB's.

Andy
Offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 10:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
wibbly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Model: 9700
Carrier: T-Mobile UK
Posts: 857
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think it depends who you know

I see loads of users in London on public transport, for example... Last time I was on the tube I was comparing the number of visible iPod users compared with the number of BB users in a carriage. 3x BB users inc myself. All those business types going to work in the City I suppose. 8 or 9 I could spot with iPods.

Also 'fun' to play 'spot the operator'. T-Mobile is blue, Vodafone is black, Orange is black but has their orange logo, etc...

Last edited by wibbly : 05-09-2006 at 10:29 AM.
Offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 10:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Les Armitage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rufford. West Lancashire. UK
Model: 8800
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 82
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wibbly
I think it depends who you know

I see loads of users in London on public transport, for example... Last time I was on the tube I was comparing the number of visible iPod users compared with the number of BB users in a carriage. 3x BB users inc myself. All those business types going to work in the City I suppose. 8 or 9 I could spot with iPods.

Also 'fun' to play 'spot the operator'. T-Mobile is blue, Vodafone is black, Orange is black but has their orange logo, etc...
Plenty of us in the UK and as for BB's. Try the Pendalino from the north to the south any day you fancy: train full of them

Me - 8700 - Vodafone (fantastic). Everthing else is cave man stuff. What about the 17 year old goin to germany!
__________________
Les Armitage [8800/8100/8700/7130/
Offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 04:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: 9520
Carrier: Tmobile
Posts: 155
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ah ha. I knew there were more of us. I see lots of people using BBs - Les, I know those Pendolinos well - but I don't see many using this forum. Either it means they all have great IT Support (I'm my own) or they're just a lot cleverer than I am at working things out without help (very likely). Or, of course, they could just be lurkersxxx8230;

If any of you use t-Mo, then I have another thread going about T-zones in the UK and it's not had one reply so I was feeling a bit lonelyxxx8230;

T Zones
is where you'll find it.

Nice to meet you all
__________________
Asianmaze

"There is something about jumping a horse over a fence, something that makes you feel good." William Faulkner
Offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 05:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Model: 7100v
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ah well, you see I dont do trains, (barely leave the house - truth be told). which would explain why I dont see many of these things out and about.

When work said I should have a mobile phone (something I'd resisted for many years), I jokingly told the IT director that I'd have a BB, and surprisingly he agreed. I wasn't overly bothered about getting one, thinking that my personal O2 XDA Exec - (HTC Universal) running WM2005 was much more use than a BB could ever be, but oh boy, was I wrong. The universal has a better keyboard than the 7100, and it has the potential to be so good, but its lousy as a phone, it crashes, locks up, runs out of memory and needs daily reboots. The BB just works consistently without any problems. Now, if only the BB would run TomTom, I could do away with the Universal for good.

(sorry for the rant)

Andy
Offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 05:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Orpington, Kent, UK
Model: 7100v
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default South East

I'm another UK User, 7100 Vodafone, Company we have just made the decision to go down this route and as I work in IT we get them first as we're meant to support them......

I like the fact that most problems we have are solved just by removing the battery and replacing it. I wish everything else were as easy.

Paul
Orpington, Kent, UK

Offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 06:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
BBAdmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Port 3101.org
Model: .
Carrier: .
Posts: 2,491
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There's plenty of the UK crew up in here man, including me!!!!!
__________________

Offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 07:42 AM   #11 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London, UK
Model: 8300
Carrier: O2
Posts: 97
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yay, a UK thread! I don't see many UK users on this site...I guess you've all been hiding. Anyone on O2?
Offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 09:46 AM   #12 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: 9520
Carrier: Tmobile
Posts: 155
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm on T-mo. Generally find them really helpful - and have had one or two very long calls to their help line! Only real problem can be network coverage - ironically that's lousiest where I live and work (home office) - but since I need the BB for travel - which is what I do a lot of - then that's okay.

Does anyone else find that that T-Mo coverage on the Pendolino (Manchester -London) has got diabolical lately? That's when I'm really glad of the BB - so much easier to send an email than wait for voice coverage.
__________________
Asianmaze

"There is something about jumping a horse over a fence, something that makes you feel good." William Faulkner
Offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 06:33 PM   #13 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
g1no's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Model: 8700g
Posts: 55
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hello all

im using a 8700g on O2, had it 3 weeks now, bit let down by the lack of software available but pretty impressed with the BB so far....
Offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 08:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London, UK
Model: 8300
Carrier: O2
Posts: 97
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g1no
hello all

im using a 8700g on O2, had it 3 weeks now, bit let down by the lack of software available but pretty impressed with the BB so far....
Are you able to connect to the net using 3rd party apps? I'm not...
Offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 04:14 AM   #15 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
g1no's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Model: 8700g
Posts: 55
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hey sm1th,

i spoke to BB uk support, the reason i cant connect to google talk is because it supports [email address] accounts (being USA accounts). in the UK accounts are [email address] but you will receive emails sent to [email address].

So to stop the confusion above, google talk only supports American accounts opened and not British accounts, unless theres another UK user thats connected without any problems.....
Offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 09:50 AM   #16 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
PaulPoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bristol, UK
Model: 8520
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 63
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking another UK user....

Woohooo!

there are more BB UK Users out there. It's good to see that the things are not only taking off over here but there are people to discuss things with on here.

Just finished a Trial with Orange using the 7200 and about to get our paws on a new 8700 on the EDGE platform.. ooohhhh..... ;)


PS - am interested to see why some people post thier PIN's on here.

Last edited by PaulPoker : 05-11-2006 at 09:55 AM.
Offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 10:06 AM   #17 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
g1no's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Model: 8700g
Posts: 55
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulPoker
Woohooo!

there are more BB UK Users out there. It's good to see that the things are not only taking off over here but there are people to discuss things with on here.

Just finished a Trial with Orange using the 7200 and about to get our paws on a new 8700 on the EDGE platform.. ooohhhh..... ;)


PS - am interested to see why some people post thier PIN's on here.

paul

when u have that 8700 on EDGE you gotto do a "review"....

as for the pin posting, it gives u an option of sending messages direct from 1 BB to another.
thats how i managed to get some info from sm1th.
Offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 10:59 AM   #18 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: 9520
Carrier: Tmobile
Posts: 155
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default thank you

Quote:
Originally Posted by g1no
hey sm1th,

i spoke to BB uk support, the reason i cant connect to google talk is because it supports [email address] accounts (being USA accounts). in the UK accounts are [email address] but you will receive emails sent to [email address].

So to stop the confusion above, google talk only supports American accounts opened and not British accounts, unless theres another UK user thats connected without any problems.....
THANK YOU!! That's info I've been after for a while.
__________________
Asianmaze

"There is something about jumping a horse over a fence, something that makes you feel good." William Faulkner
Offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 11:05 AM   #19 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
g1no's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Model: 8700g
Posts: 55
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

asianmaze

entering your name and password correct and getting a invalid user name or password reply had to p*ss someone off sometime
Offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 03:15 PM   #20 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
PaulPoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bristol, UK
Model: 8520
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 63
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah I can do a review no problems.

how do I use the PIN to message people then?
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

NEW MSA ALTAIR ALTAIR2X H2S-LC 2 Gas detector 10154076C Sealed
$50.0
NEW MSA ALTAIR ALTAIR2X H2S-LC 2 Gas detector 10154076C Sealed pictureUsed MSA Altair 4X  gas meter. Excellent physical condition. No charger, as is. 
$100.0
Used MSA Altair 4X  gas meter. Excellent physical condition. No charger, as is.  pictureMSA ALTAIR 4 Automated Test System & Galaxy Cylinder Holder☆☆Free Shipping
$1393.73
MSA ALTAIR 4 Automated Test System & Galaxy Cylinder Holder☆☆Free Shipping  pictureMSA Altair Single Gas H2S Hydrogen Sulfide Detector
$107.95
MSA Altair Single Gas H2S Hydrogen Sulfide Detector pictureMSA Altair Wall Charger 10087913, Power Supply For 4x and 5xMulti Gas Detectors
$35.0
MSA Altair Wall Charger 10087913, Power Supply For 4x and 5xMulti Gas Detectors picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.