BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-03-2006, 05:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: 7130
Carrier: o2
Posts: 19
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hi from England

Please Login to Remove!

Hi to Everyone

I'm Blackberry newbie, and have a 7130 on o2 here in England. I spent a year with a PDA and found the email side of it not very good to say the least. So here I am, hoping the Blackberry will be a vast improvement. I will get my silly question out of the way first. When I'm first registering on o2, I have to give a User ID for my account. Will this show up on all the emails I send as the "from" address"? The reason I ask this is I will use the Blackberry mainly for business but also some personal use, but I don't want the User ID too jokey, more sensible for business use, if that makes sense. So not sure what to use? Any ides?

Cheers
Offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 07:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
K-Mack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Antonio
Model: 8700c
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 592
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Welcome
__________________
8700c
Samsung Wep 200 Headset
Offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 07:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
003402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado Foothills
Model: 8330
PIN: S AND NEEDLES
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 1,098
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Welcome. First, not entirely sure how it works for o2, but it should show up in your BB email address if you use that as your primary email. But, you can have several email accounts (i.e. I have a business account, a bb account, and my personal account. If I reply from each of those email accounts, it responds with the address for that account. for example, if I reply from my business account, it would show up as [email address], vice [email address], which is my registered BB account. make sense? Bottom line, if you use only your BB account for your professional mail, you should be careful of your user name.
Offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 08:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 8100
Carrier: T-moblie
Posts: 68
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cheers!
Offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 02:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: 7130
Carrier: o2
Posts: 19
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 003402
Welcome. First, not entirely sure how it works for o2, but it should show up in your BB email address if you use that as your primary email. But, you can have several email accounts (i.e. I have a business account, a bb account, and my personal account. If I reply from each of those email accounts, it responds with the address for that account. for example, if I reply from my business account, it would show up as [email address], vice [email address], which is my registered BB account. make sense? Bottom line, if you use only your BB account for your professional mail, you should be careful of your user name.
Thanks for the welcome guys, and sorry for the stupid question. What you say does make sense, did not want to make a mistake right at the beginning!
Cheers
Offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 02:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: 9520
Carrier: Tmobile
Posts: 155
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There's quite a number of us from the UK here - welcome.

If you're on O2 (and assuming your BIS not BES) I'm guessing it works like Tmobile UK and you have a web based service where you can make changes to your account - ask O2. This means you go here to change all your options such as adding filters (stpos junk mail) adding accounts for it to poll, changing your sent from name and so on.
__________________
Asianmaze

"There is something about jumping a horse over a fence, something that makes you feel good." William Faulkner
Offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 02:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: 7130
Carrier: o2
Posts: 19
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asianmaze
There's quite a number of us from the UK here - welcome.

If you're on O2 (and assuming your BIS not BES) I'm guessing it works like Tmobile UK and you have a web based service where you can make changes to your account - ask O2. This means you go here to change all your options such as adding filters (stpos junk mail) adding accounts for it to poll, changing your sent from name and so on.
Hi
Yes I'm on o2 BIS. I think as my business will be the main email account, I will set it up with a name reflecting that, and add others later. This looks like a great forum!
Offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 06:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
bobelliottjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Model: 7520
PIN: 4011A2D7
Carrier: Nextel
Posts: 123
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Welcome
__________________
Bob Elliott

Quote:
My Blackberry 7520, I never leave home without, it is my office on the move ...
Offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 07:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Rushjerzee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Southern NJ
Model: 9530
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 178
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

HI! Welcome from across the pond!!!
Offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 08:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
adamlau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Model: 9930
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 850
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've always wanted to travel to England to try out authentic English fish and chips...
__________________
xxx40657;xxx33683;xxx23376;xxx25163;xxx26426;xxx31532;xxx19968;
Offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 09:59 AM   #11 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: 7130
Carrier: o2
Posts: 19
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamlau
I've always wanted to travel to England to try out authentic English fish and chips...
Can't beat it, Cod & Chips!
Offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 07:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
adamlau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Model: 9930
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 850
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Aha...So it is cod and chips and not fish and chips...Yummy!
__________________
xxx40657;xxx33683;xxx23376;xxx25163;xxx26426;xxx31532;xxx19968;
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.