BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-29-2006, 11:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Model: 7290
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Yes..... A Newbe! Have a Few Questions.....

Please Login to Remove!

Hi One and All.

Located in Oxfordshire, England.

Business Analyst.

Blackberry 7290.

Extremely new to the world of B'berries. I have upgraded software to v4.+ whateva it is.

My brother gave me the blackberry. Locked to O2. So cannot use full func's on BB. Would appear, you will only get full func if I go contract with them, my brother was on contract and he couldn't get the d**m thing to work. I am on 'Pay as you go'. My other mobile provider says, I can get full use out of it, as soon as I unlock it.

So, I am trying to unlock and remove O2's IT Policy. Does anyone have any software etc, experience etc to enable me to join this BB World?

Oh yes, one more question. I have downloaded the user manual, but I still cannot find how to access the web on it. Again any help plez.

Your responses would be gratefully rec'd.

Most kind.

Last edited by da_bish : 09-29-2006 at 11:15 AM.
Offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 11:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired BBF Moderator
 
paulbblc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Model: ip 3g
PIN: 8675309
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 3,555
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Without a data plan you won't be able to access the web. If you have a data plan there should be a browser icon on the BB. If there is no browser icon you can try to resend the service books (options/settings > host routing table > click on the top entry and register).

As far as unlocking, you could get ahold of Adam at GSM PhoneSource - When Only The Best Will Do and see if he is able to get it unlocked. Very reasonable prices and very respected on these forums.
Offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 11:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Model: 7290
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your reply.
Offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 11:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
BBF Veteran
 
coreyg510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lost in Translation
Model: 8700c
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 3,190
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for being a member!


Gecko
__________________
He's Back....and better than ever!
Offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 12:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Model: 7290
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Mate.

Re Paul's suggestion. I have tried that, all it says is message sent....

All I can access at present is phone and text/sms.

Trying to get online and failing badly.
Offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 01:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired BBF Moderator
 
paulbblc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Model: ip 3g
PIN: 8675309
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 3,555
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Chances are that you don't have a data plan attached to your bb then. Call your provider to make sure it's set up correctly.

And actually, being on a 'pay as you go' plan might limit your ability to get a data plan. Not 100% sure on that though.

Best to call them to verify for sure.
Offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 10:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Model: 7290
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My service provider does not support Blackberry use on pay as you go, only on contract. All I can say is what a wasted opportunity by them.

Looks like my blackberry will end up in the infamous drawer along with other good but useless hard/software.

Cheers anyway.

Forecast for tomorrow (with apols to our US friends), Spurs 0 PORTSMOUTH 2.
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.