BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2007, 01:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phoenix
Model: 8830
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 65
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default dumb question but what is WIFI?!

Please Login to Remove!

i am a smart phone newbie, i have a blackberry 8700 and am interested in upcoming BB models.

everyone talks about the new BB's that will have 'WIFI' capabilities.

here's the dumb question of today...what is that, why is it beneficial, do i need it, how would it help me, etc.?!

thanks!
Offline  
Old 03-14-2007, 01:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
EPIC MOD
 
ezrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Model: ZED10
OS: DOS 3.1
PIN: INK STICK
Carrier: Tmobile
Posts: 12,214
Post Thanks: 9
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

WiFi is short for Wireless Fidelity........ Do you have a laptop that connect to the network or internet without wires? that would be WiFi

Another way to get data usage from a device at greater speeds.

Tmobile is rolling out a service that eventually will allow seamlees tranfers of calls from Cell tower to a WiFi connection thus allowing them to build out network inexpensively.

Will you need it that is something you will have to determine. Certainly wouldn't hurt to have!
__________________
ZED 10
Offline  
Old 03-14-2007, 02:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
No Longer Registered.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Welcome to the forum and hope you enjoy your stay!
 
Old 03-14-2007, 02:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
blakeatl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Atlanta area
Model: 8100
OS: 4.5.0.102
Carrier: T-mobile
Posts: 1,686
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezrunner
WiFi is short for Wireless Fidelity........ Do you have a laptop that connect to the network or internet without wires? that would be WiFi

Another way to get data usage from a device at greater speeds.

Tmobile is rolling out a service that eventually will allow seamlees tranfers of calls from Cell tower to a WiFi connection thus allowing them to build out network inexpensively.

Will you need it that is something you will have to determine. Certainly wouldn't hurt to have!
Now that's what I call an explanation!!
__________________
Build Your Business Even If You Are On A Budget.
Magnetic Sponsoring
Offline  
Old 03-15-2007, 08:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
BlackBerry Master
 
brucejr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Model: 666
Carrier: ?
Posts: 3,645
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8100/4.2.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/102)

Welcome to the Forums bob_az!
__________________
The Purrfect 4
Offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 08:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
mavsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Model: 9630
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 144
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

wifi = good
Offline  
Closed Thread

« Newbie here | Word! »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.