BlackBerry Forums Support Community

BlackBerry Forums Support Community (http://www.blackberryforums.com/index.php)
-   Developer Forum (http://www.blackberryforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Unable to get GPS Fix in Verizon CDMA Blackberry (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=169515)

bhushan.kasturiwale 01-09-2009 12:20 AM

Unable to get GPS Fix in Verizon CDMA Blackberry
 
Hello ,

I am trying to get the GPS Fix for Verizon Blackberry Storm, 8830.
I have the PDE information provided by the Verizon.
But I am unable to get the fix . I tried the MS-Based , PDE-Calculate , Default modes of getting the GPS fix.
I tried single shot , multiple fixes. But I am unable to get any information on it.

If any one have tried it and got the GPS fix on Verizon Blackberry please help.


Thanks!
Bhushan

Dougsg38p 01-09-2009 08:13 AM

Are you setting the correct Verizon PDE data?

See this link:

Livelink - Redirection

bhushan.kasturiwale 01-09-2009 09:15 AM

Yes I am putting the correct IP and Port number for the GPS fix.
It is the Verizon IP and Port Number

Dougsg38p 01-09-2009 10:21 AM

Is your application signed with the RIM keys?

bhushan.kasturiwale 01-11-2009 11:57 PM

Yes my Application is signed with RIM keys

shwemp 01-12-2009 08:38 AM

Verizon does not use IP and port number.


Setting up Verizon credentials
Verizon requires third-party applications to have a valid Client ID and Password for their Location Proxy Server (LPS) to access the Location API. To obtain these credentials, contact Verizon. Verizon credentials can be set in an application by calling GPSSettings.setPDEInfo(String ip, int port) as follows:

GPSSettings.setPDEInfo(";"+clientID+";"+password, 0);

RIM Developer KB document here: h ttp://tinyurl.com/6fj2t8

bhushan.kasturiwale 01-27-2009 12:28 AM

I tried to get the GPS fix using the Username and password. But I am unable to get the GPS fix using that too. If u have tried it on any verizon device then please let me know the criteria which you used for getting GPS fix.

Please help me out in this ..

Thanks!
Bhushan

shwemp 01-28-2009 03:51 PM

If you received the credentials from Verizon you should be able to contact their development group to assist you with this.

HouseApe 02-04-2009 10:32 AM

Wrong info sorry

shwemp 05-28-2009 07:40 PM

Tyth over at crackberry.com forums says this bit of code should work.

Code:

LocationProvider provider;
try
{
    provider = LocationProvider.getInstance(null);
    int vendorId = Branding.getVendorId();
    if (provider == null)
    {
        Dialog.alert("GPS unsupported on this device.");
        System.exit(0);
    }
    else if (vendorId == 105 || vendorId == 226 || vendorId == 237)
    {
        try
        {
            GPSSettings.setPDEInfo("127.0.0.1;12569612;F5468C61EE541421908597C54975B584", 0);
        }
        catch (IllegalArgumentException iae)
        {
            // shouldn't happen
            Dialog.alert("Failed in sending PDE credentials to carrier.");
            System.exit(0);
        }
        catch (UnsupportedOperationException uoe)
        {
            // not a CDMA device
        }
    }
    // set up the location listener here
    provider.setLocationListener(<object implementing LocationListener>, 1, 1, 1);
}
catch (LocationException le)
{
    Dialog.alert("Failed to instantiate the location provider.");
    System.exit(0);
}



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.