BlackBerry Forums Support Community

BlackBerry Forums Support Community (http://www.blackberryforums.com/index.php)
-   General Legacy Device Discussion (http://www.blackberryforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=137)
-   -   Hacking the Blackberry? :O (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=118240)

edude03 02-17-2008 07:23 PM

Hacking the Blackberry? :O

Hello everyone,
I'm new here, and I'm not sure if this is a touchy subject but I'd like to do some blackberry hacking. I have taken a few software engineering courses and I am in my second year of computer engineering at UoW.

Anyway, My goal is to get software to run natively outside of the BB OS, has any work been done in this area?

Furthermore, is there anyway to get access to the hardware while in the BBOS? It seems that development is limited without the key, however, I only bought a BB to play with so I'm looking for a way around that.

Another thing I wondered, How does a service provider program the phone initially? I haven't been able to find any information on a PST tool or service mode for any of the blackberry models which I find highly unusual considering I can even get into service mode on my Treo.

Also, I would like to run linux or something on it since like I said, I'm not really interested in using it as a phone.

Thanks for any information you can provide, and for the record I have a 8820 and a 8830 thanks,

Michael

ezrunner 02-17-2008 07:37 PM

Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8800/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

Bbs biggest claim to fame SECURITY

d_fisher 02-17-2008 07:38 PM

No one has done what your wanting to do. Or, no one has gone public with claiming to have done so. Since the BlackBerry is designed first to be secure I suspect you will have a hard time. Good luck.

paulbblc 02-17-2008 07:56 PM

What's with the recent surge of want-to-be BlackBerry "Hackers"?

NJBlackBerry 02-17-2008 08:00 PM

Google "BlackBerry hacking" and see what you come up with.