BlackBerry Forums Support Community

BlackBerry Forums Support Community (http://www.blackberryforums.com/index.php)
-   General Legacy Device Discussion (http://www.blackberryforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=137)
-   -   Got the 8700 on Friday... (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=20087)

tori888 11-27-2005 08:29 PM

Got the 8700 on Friday...

I love it! BUT, i am new to Blackberry and I have 2 problems with it. I use sms A LOT and cant stand that my emails and sms messages are mixed together. Also I was a Treo 650 user and the Treo stored your sms messages as individual chats with each of your recipients. is there anyone who can help with this??? any other questions regarding the device, let me know.

mas90guru 11-27-2005 09:03 PM

yeah the BB devices aren't great for SMS. They'll do them but nothing that I've seen discussed which approaches the functionality of the Treo.

brmcguire 11-27-2005 09:15 PM

Actually, The BB does provide you a "chat" view of all the sms messages that was from the same user. It does however store them seperately in your inbox. I am also a Treo 650 user and find the SMS client there much better.

Sparkomatic 11-27-2005 09:37 PM

I used a Treo 650 for awhile and agree with you too. The SMS chat on the Treo was great. Pocket PC's are even worse than BB's.

I just moved over to the 8700 and love it! This, coming from a die hard PPC guy. I also set up hosting with exchangemymail.com today and the service is wonderful! It was soooo easy setting up my BB. Sorry, just had to share! :)

mortys11 11-27-2005 10:17 PM

sms

no need to hold them down together....

alt then "s" lists sms mess

...also

alt "i" is incoming mess
alt "o" is outgoing mess
alt "s" is sent

alt "p" is phone calls etc....search short cuts posts here

i hope this works on 8700

tori888 11-28-2005 12:13 AM

alt "s" is helpful.
with hiding my sent it makes it a little better.
thank you!

Loomy 11-28-2005 01:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tori888