BlackBerry Forums Support Community

BlackBerry Forums Support Community (http://www.blackberryforums.com/index.php)
-   General 8300 Series Discussion - Curve (http://www.blackberryforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=93)
-   -   Why does desktop manager tell me I'm not online? (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=168950)

rragan 01-06-2009 01:48 PM

Why does desktop manager tell me I'm not online?
 
Desktop manager recognizes my phone but won't sync. It keeps telling me I'm not connected online but my computer is always connected. What am I not doing.

stroke0f_luck 01-06-2009 02:02 PM

Are you using Enterprise Server? If so that usually means that the Desktop Manager cannot connect to your mail server and/or Outlook .ost file (if you're using Outlook).

If you are using Outlook, does your mail also show "Offline" in the bottom right hand corner?

ndub33 01-06-2009 02:12 PM

Welcome to the forums!

Try clicking the word "offline" on your Desktop Manager.

rragan 01-06-2009 02:18 PM

It doesn't say offline anywhere on Outlook. The word offline is nowhere on desktop manager that I can find. If I click Check for updates on desktop manager the internet comes on. Thanks

stroke0f_luck 01-06-2009 02:22 PM

Excuse my memory as I haven't been on BES in over a year but I think maybe your desktop manager has not chosen a mail profile to use? Somewhere on the options you can choose "Outlook" as your profile.

Also, just for reference what version of the desktop manager do you have installed? If it's a newer version it should show the version number in the bottom left corner.

rragan 01-06-2009 02:33 PM

Version 4.3.017 November 12, 2007

stroke0f_luck 01-06-2009 02:45 PM

OK, if I am not mistaken, you can go to Options / Profile Settings and choose Outlook as the default profile.

Dubdub 01-06-2009 02:46 PM

Are you on BES? If so, there could be an IT Policy from your company preventing te connection and sync.

rragan 01-06-2009 03:00 PM

I'm not on BES and only options are connection settings and data folder settings. Thanks got to go now. Thanks alot.

pauly 01-10-2009 01:36 AM

Same problem here. Phone connects to DM just fine but get this message when I try to sync.



"The computer must be connected to the internet in order to initially configure synchronization settings. Please ensure that you connected to the internet and try again."

Where do I go from here?

Thanks

pauly 01-10-2009 04:51 AM

I FINALLY found a fix out there. Uninstall 4.6 and install 4.2 sp2. It apparently does not look for an internet connection thereby allowing sync. This seems to have been going on since MAY 2008. What the F is RIM doing? This is a giant pain in the A__!!!


Good luck to all


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.